Skip to content

Sparkles | きらきら☆

August 28, 2013

*I started this entry nearly a month ago, just a few days before we flew for two weeks to Japan. I’m hoping to eventually post about the Japan trip too!*
*このエントリーは約一ヶ月前に書き始めたもので、その数日後二週間日本へ一時帰国しました。
いずれ一時帰国のエントリーもアップできればと思ってます☆*

* * * * *

Maybe it was the techno music, playing at a volume bordering on too loud that was so infectious I couldn’t help but dance to it in the dressing room.

Maybe it was because I hadn’t really gone shopping since my last trip to Tokyo, which was back in… February.

Maybe it was the lighting in the place. Not too dark, not too bright, and I don’t know how else to say it… superficial? In a guilty pleasure kind of way, if that makes sense. The kind of lighting that makes you buy things without really thinking, if such a thing exists.

Or maybe it was because I had Tokyo on my mind.

Or maybe it was the flattering mirrors.

I don’t know, maybe it was none or all of the above… but I found myself buying things that were… sparkly. Very, very, sparkly.

音楽のせいだったかもしれない。
音量もジャンルもまるでクラブで、思わず試着室の中で踊ってしまった。

それとも買い物がかなりご無沙汰してたからかもしれない。
最後は前回一時帰国した時。つまり二月、、、

それとも照明のせいだったかも?
暗すぎず、明るすぎず、、、なんて言うんだろう、ニセ物っぽい?
何も考えずに、次から次へと物を買ってしまうような照明って存在するのかな?

それとも東京のことが頭にあったからかも。

もしくは試着室のかなりスリムにみえる鏡のせい?

いずれにせよ、気付いたら、きらきら度がかなり高い物を買っている自分がいた。

20130725Clothes

As soon as I pulled out the pink shirt out of the bag, Yuval froze.

“Oh.” Is all he said.

“What?” I asked.

“That looks like something an Arab Christian would wear.”

And then he proceeded to tell me that the blue dress looked more like the taste of a Central Asian Jewish Israeli.

And even without him saying anything else, I understood that he would very much prefer that I didn’t wear either of the garments in Israel, thank you very much.

My immediate response in my head went something like this: I can wear anything I want, anywhere I want, regardless of who should or shouldn’t be wearing the garment!

But on a second thought, I could imagine that it will look rather strange for me to be wearing these garments. Even if technically I should be able to get away with it, being Japanese and not belonging to any of the major ethnic or religious groups here in Israel. I do live in a predominantly Jewish, mostly Ashkenazi environment after all.

It seems the longer I live in Israel, the more I seem to discover less obvious cultural lines and borders. Two years ago, I don’t think I would’ve got this.

“But I was thinking of wearing the blue dress to lunch with the girls in Tokyo,” I told Yuval.

“Okay, with the girls in Tokyo it might be nice,” he replied.

* * * * *

A few days later in broad daylight, regardless of what Yuval said and certain cultural lines I may or may not be crossing by wearing it, I’m not sure I’ll have any opportunities to wear the pink shirt in Israel or Japan. Maybe in a belly dance class? Just one of those compulsive purchases, I guess. Blame it on the music. Or the lighting. Or everything.

The blue dress will be for my girlfriends to decide. But in Israel? I can’t really picture too many occasions that I can wear it to either, aside from weddings, maybe.

ピンクのシャツを袋から取り出した途端、そばにいたユバルの顔が凍り付いた。

「Oh。」その一言のみ。

「何?」と私が聞き返すと、

「それ、キリスト教のアラブ人の趣味のシャツだ。」と彼は言った。

そして、ブルーのドレスは中央アジア系のユダヤイスラエル人が着るようなもの、らしい。

それ以上ユバルは何も言わなかったけど、彼が本当に言いたいことはわかった。
お願いだからその服、イスラエルでは着ないで!

私の頭の中で浮かんだ即時の反応はこんな感じ:
私が何を何処で着ようと私の勝手!誰が何を着るべきなんて関係ないでしょ!

でも冷静になってみると、私がこれらの洋服を着たらおかしくみえるのは想像できる。
イスラエルのメインの宗教や人種に属してない日本人の私は大丈夫、なはずかもしれないけど、、、
でも私が住んでいるのはユダヤ教の、しかもほとんどアシュケナジの環境なので、
やはり浮いてしまうのは想像できるのだ。(普通にしてても浮いているのだから!)

イスラエルに長く住めば住むほど、
今までは想像もできなかった文化的な境界線がみえてくるような気がする。
二、三年前の自分だったら今回のこともわからなかったと思う。

「でもブルーのドレスは東京で女友達数人と会う時に着て行こうと思ってたんだけど」
と私が言うとユバルは、

「うん、東京なら良いかもしれない。」と答えた。

* * * * *

数日後、もう一度ピンクのシャツをみてみたら、
これはユバルが言ったことや文化的な境界線など関係なく、
イスラエルでも日本でも着れる状況はないんじゃないか??と思った。
ベリーダンスのクラスだったらいいかも。
久しぶりの衝動買い?音楽、照明、全てのせい?

ブルーのドレスはどうだろう?
東京では着るとして、でもイスラエルではこのキブツ生活上、
あまり着れる機会がない気がする、、、

Much love,
Kaori

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

