Skip to content

Holocaust Remembrance Day Eve

April 7, 2013

Today is the eve of Holocaust Remembrance Day. At work my boss asked me if I remembered, and I said of course, but then she mentioned that everything will be closed from around early evening today, and I realized I actually didn’t remember that. Last year the 2-minute long siren on the actual Remembrance Day left such a strong impression on me (the entry I wrote about it is here and the entry with a stunning video of the siren is here) that I had forgotten about all the stores closing down.

Yuval should be on the road tomorrow when the siren goes off. I wonder what his experience will be like.

Much love,
Kaori

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2013 7:41 pm

    Have you ever been able to see it some place where there are lots of people around? There is nothing else like it, that I’ve ever seen anywhere else in the world. It really does stay with you and is very powerful! I went to Tel Aviv to get a different view today and was really glad I did. I also forget about the shops closing up as well. Remember that it will happen again for memorial day!

    • April 9, 2013 5:07 pm

      No, I’ve only experienced it at work, and I imagine it’s even more surreal where there are lots of people around!

Leave a Reply

