Skip to content

Wishing You

December 31, 2012
Sky art, Canon EOS Kiss X4

Sky art, Canon EOS Kiss X4

Wishing you a very happy new year, my friends.

I must say, this is the time when I most ache to be in Japan and be with my family. I miss the slower passing of time, my mom’s cooking, the festive sake consumed all day long (in small doses of course!), and Tokyo at its most quiet and peaceful state. I’ve been conscious of how Japan must be about a week leading up to this day, as it is the biggest holiday of the year there. I think I miss it even more because here in Israel, this day pretty much is just like any other day. No one’s making a big deal out of it.

Be safe and see you in 2013.

皆様、お元気ですか?

この文章を書いている今現在、もう日本は新年を迎えて3時間以上が過ぎています。
ですから、明けましておめでとうございます!ですね。

この時期は正直一番日本と実家が恋しくなる時かもしれません。
あの普段よりゆっくり流れる時間、お母さんのおせちとお雑煮、
昼間からの日本酒(!もちろんちょっぴりずつですけど!笑)、
そしてびっくりするくらい静まり返った東京。
ここ一週間ほど年末に近づくたびに、日本の年末の雰囲気を思い出していました。
イスラエルでは全く普通の日と変わらないからこそ、
余計日本のお正月の雰囲気が恋しくなるのかもしれません。

では皆様2013年にお会いしましょう!(イスラエルはまだ新年を迎えてないので)
来年もどうぞ宜しくお願いします。

Much love,
Kaori

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sammi Moe permalink
    January 1, 2013 12:19 am

    Happy New Year Kaori! Our Christmas was good. Quiet, and slow paced, but fun. New Year’s Eve will be quiet for me. Sara is in D.C. and Carolyn is at her friend’s house. Byron is flying, so just me to amuse. I think I will try to stay up and watch a movie, and maybe the crystal ball drop in Times Square. Hmmm, not sure I will make that. I think it is already 2013 rthere, or very close to it. I hope you have a wonderful year!
    love and hugs,
    Sammi

    • January 2, 2013 9:40 am

      I hope you had a nice peaceful New Year’s Eve Sammi! I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather so I didn’t make it past midnight this year…zzz
      My best wishes to you for 2013!
      Love xox
      Kaori

  2. January 27, 2013 10:11 pm

    My heart aches to be in Japan too!! Unfortunately I had to nix my yearend trip. Aargh. I was so unhappy. Especially with my Food Life in SoCal. And the non-festive New Year’s. I try to get some mochi, at least, but eating o-zoni alone sucks, too. (WW doesn’t like the mochi and only has the soup part.) Anyway, happy new year, Kaori. Hope it’s a ssssizzling, ssssensational year of the ssssssnake! (Mine is ssssstill ssssssleeeping….)

    • January 30, 2013 10:45 am

      A very belated happy new year to you to CH! As with every year, I really enjoyed WW’s holiday email looking back on all your activities. I don’t doubt you will have another jam-packed, interesting, and fulfilling year ahead of you!
      Yuval also doesn’t like mochi in soups. I guess it’s a tough texture even for the usually Japanese food enthusiastic foreigner. But I absolutely love it and I really missed my mom’s o-zoni this year! I hope you get a trip to Japan to make up for the one you missed.

Leave a Reply

