Skip to content

Rain clouds and Skyfall

October 27, 2012

The sky looked like this on my way to work yesterday, and I couldn’t help from stopping to take it all in for a moment. It was Friday (the first day of the weekend here in Israel) so none of the factory or landscape workers I usually pass by were there. It was just me and the sky.

A few hours later, just as the weather forecast had predicted, the sky split open and down came the rain, in what felt like buckets. The unevenly paved floors around work soon formed deep puddles enough to soak anyone’s shoes, and thank goodness we all had bicycles to get us through them.

While we were all marveling at the pounding rain we spotted our co-worker’s tiny black dog frantically running. We all called to her and she ran towards us, soaked to the bone and terrified. (She’s apparently the kind of dog that whimpers under a blanket at the first sound of thunder.) My boss’s husband toweled her down but she was shaking so badly that he picked her up and held her for a while.

* * * * *

Today was also predicted to rain but just switched between cloudy and sunny. We went to see the new Bond movie “Skyfall” and WOW is all I can say. I am someone who hasn’t bothered to watch any of the previous Daniel Craig Bond movies, and while I liked Pierce Brosnan as Bond, I didn’t see all of his films either.

For this latest movie I just fell prey to what I thought was a brilliant promotion campaign on their part, by releasing the theme song by Adele a few weeks before the movie. I’ve been a Adele fan ever since I first heard her first album “19” playing in a vintage clothing shop in Daikanyama (Tokyo) many years ago. And strangely, I didn’t even fall in love with her theme song nearly as much as I did for the first songs of hers I heard back in Tokyo, but it didn’t matter, it made me want to see the movie. And the preview didn’t dampen my enthusiasm, it actually made me excited.

This movie is totally worth seeing on the big screen. As a person who used to work in video and film production, I was absolutely blown away by some of the magnificent locations, and how beautifully shot it all was. Certain scenes were just breathtaking. I’ve seen more big blockbuster action movies this year than I would like to admit (I had to survive yet another Israeli summer after all) but this one was far beyond the rest. Many action movies these days are starting to look and feel more and more similar to one another probably due to so much of their settings generated by computer animation. But “Skyfall” used real locations and they used them well. It was extremely well made, well acted, well shot. And my goodness, does Daniel Craig make a fine James Bond, which was also unexpected for me. I would go so far as to say this may be one of my most favorite films I have seen this year (and I have seen many!) and I would totally go see it again!

I hope you had a great weekend my friends,

Much love,
Kaori

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy Woods permalink
    November 16, 2012 7:32 am

    Missing you, my friend!

Leave a Reply

