Skip to content

Peaceful graveyard

September 21, 2012

Circassian graveyard in the Golan Heights 1 | ゴラン高原のシルケシア人墓地1, Canon EOS Kiss X4

Circassian graveyard in the Golan Heights 2 | ゴラン高原のシルケシア人墓地2, Canon EOS Kiss X4

It was long after I had walked all over this beautiful place with Yuval’s niece and nephews that I learned it was actually a Circassian graveyard from the 19th century. But it made perfect sense. While everything was mostly covered with fallen leaves and there were hardly traces or outlines of the tombstones, the place had a somber yet peaceful atmosphere with a calming effect.

We took this drive during the Rosh HaShana holiday this week. As it was with this week, the next few weeks will be a bit out of whack with major Jewish holidays of Yom Kippur and Sukkot. It will be a weird period when I will never know what day of the week it is and the passing of time will feel both fast and slow.

I hope you had a great week my friends.

この場所が実は19世紀のチェルカシ人墓地だと知ったのは
ユバルの姪と甥達と一緒に散策しさんざん歩き回った後でした。
でも、あ、やっぱり、と思うような場所でした。
ほとんどが落ち葉で覆われ実際のお墓の跡形はほとんどなかったのですが
心が自然と落ち着くような穏やかな静けさがありました。

この場所には今週のローシャシャーナ(ユダヤ教のお正月)の祝日にドライブで行ってきました。
今週に続きこれからの数週間はヨム・キプール、スコートとユダヤ教の祝日が続き
いつもの日常のペースが乱れます。
何曜日なのかも、時間が過ぎるのが速いのか遅いのかもわからないような日々が
しばらく続きそうです。

皆様は良い一週間を過ごせましたか?

Much love,
Kaori

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sammi Moe permalink
    September 25, 2012 4:40 pm

    I have not checked in with your for a very long time. I just caught up on all the posts you have made, and I think you must be doing well! (Glad you are over the fever and feeling better!) Enjoy the holidays! I will be home for a few months with a foot injury and surgery. I will have lots of time to read and check in with you! Each day it is better, but I am not doing stairs yet, which keeps me a bit house bound. Perhaps by the end of this week I will be able to tackle these steps! Keep writing. And take care!
    Sammi

    • September 27, 2012 6:01 pm

      Hi Sammi,
      Nice to hear from you! I’m so sorry to hear about your foot injury and sincerely hope for your smooth recovery. At least you can enjoy the wonderful fall weather and colors, no? Ahh the New England autumn…🙂
      Please take care and I will be in touch!
      xo
      Kaori

Leave a Reply

