Skip to content

6 Sept 2012 (The lost week and the First Lady)

September 6, 2012

Oh my goodness, my friends!

I let nearly a week go by without posting. You know what happened? That business meeting I posted about last week turned in to a small freelance business gig for me and I worked on the preliminary research all week. It was actually very interesting, but as much as I hate to admit, I seriously need a brush-up on time management. Until this gig, I only had my kibbutz laundry job that varied from a 5 to 9 hour day, and then I had all the rest of my day to blog, take long walks, attempt to cook awesome dinners, and contemplate on life and what it all means (but I rarely did).

Well the gig totally took over my life for the past week. I let it. I procrastinated of course (I wasn’t nicknamed the “Procrastination Queen” in college for nothing!), but once I started on the work I didn’t have room for anything else.

Earlier on this year I kind of worked around this “Blog Every Day For A Year” thing, first when I was in Japan in February and second when I was in France in July, to go back and upload posts for each day I was away later on. I did that because for one I had plenty of things I wanted to share, and second, of course, once I said I’ll do something, I really wanted to see it through.

But I’m not going to go back and “cheat” for this week, my friends. I’m letting go of the 365 posts a year thing, even if I’ve already come so close (!) with nearly 9 months behind me. From today I’ll do my best to continue to keep up the daily thing but this past week? It’s gone, my friends. Most of the hours after I returned home from my laundry job was spent in front of my computer. There’s not much to tell.

What I do want to share is that I just cried my eyes out watching First Lady Michelle Obama’s speech at the democratic national convention.

I’m not embarrassed to admit that my curiosity was piqued via my favorite fashion blog of all time, as Mrs. Obama always (or almost always) brings it with her fashion (and beauty, needless to add. The woman is hot). But damn, that lady can deliver a speech.

This is where I’m at, my friends. Oh, and I’m a bit tipsy over a few glasses of celebratory red wine for finishing my preliminary research! (Accompanied by pâté from France, olives from an Arab bakery in Kfar Kama, goat cheese from a nearby Jewish village, and Belgian chocolate. Yes, I totally spoiled myself! While my boo is out sick…I hope you get beter soon, love!)

Anyway, I hope you had a good week, my friends.

Much love,
Kaori

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 7, 2012 2:24 am

    so THAT’s how you could write so regularly! Well I hope your new endeavors take you everywhere you plan🙂 What are they actually? What’s all your research for..?

Leave a Reply

