Skip to content

27 July 2012 (How old do I look today?)

July 27, 2012

Early in the morning, my boss’s mom tells me that the man who delivers the laundry from the kibbutz nursing home every day just told her he thought I couldn’t be older than 22. We have a good laugh over that, she teasingly and I going past being flattered to slightly disturbed. I just recently turned 36.

Not even an hour later, my boss’s father (and my boss’s mom’s former husband) stops by with his dog. The dog instantly starts jumping on Yuval’s 17-year old nephew, who just started working with us a few days ago for the summer. My boss’s father, in typical older kibbutznik fashion (or I don’t know, maybe it’s a general Israeli thing) when seeing someone unfamiliar or who they don’t know well, starts to ask about the Nephew as if he’s not right there in front of him. Petting his dog.

“Who is he?”

And then,

“Is he her son?”

The her he was referring to was me. (He also talks about me as if I’m not there.)

With this, my boss’s mom and I start laughing again, remembering the 22-year old comment from earlier.

My boss’s father sees this and immediately seems to think we are laughing at him.

“Why is she laughing?” He asks defensively. “It’s possible, right? Why is she laughing?”

He keeps on saying this over and over, making my boss’s mom and I giggle harder as we desperately tried to suppress ourselves.

What made me laugh even harder then and every time I remembered this incident throughout the day was….how? How exactly did my boss’s father see the connection apart from the age? How could he possibly be convinced that I, a 100% Japanese, could be the mother of Yuval’s nephew, half Ashkenazi (eastern European) and half Belgian, with dirty blonde hair and blue eyes? Was I… missing something? Was he seeing something in us that I don’t??

This reminded me of when a friend and I were at one of our close friend’s wedding over 10 years ago. She, 100% Caucasian, and I, as you already know 100% Asian, kept on getting mistaken for sisters. Sure, at the time we had our hair in nearly the same length, and her hair had always been as black as mine. But every time we were asked we looked at each other and giggled internally thinking, um, hello?? Although we admitted to each other later that we were just as equally touched as we found it funny. We really were like sisters back then.

I hope you had a nice week with giggle worthy moments, my friends.
Wishing you a fantastic weekend,

今朝早々、仕事を手伝いに来てくれた上司のお母さんが私をからかってきました。
毎朝キブツの老人ホームの洗濯物を配達してくれるおじちゃんが、
私のことを「22歳以上にはみえない」と言っていた、と。
最近36歳になった自分は嬉しいを通り越して少々複雑(?)な気分でしたが、
彼女と共に笑いました。

それから一時間もたたないうちに、
上司のお父さん(そして上司のお母さんの元夫)が飼い犬と共に立ち寄りました。
犬は、数日前から夏の間だけ働くことになったユバルの17歳の甥っ子が前を通りかかると
遊んでほしそうに彼に飛びつきました。
上司のお父さんは高年齢のキブツ人間に良くみる態度で
(それともイスラエル人全体に共通するのかもしれませんが)
見たことのない人、もしくは良く知らない人を、その人がその場にいないかのように、
ユバルの甥っ子のことについて色々と聞き始めました。

「彼は誰?」

そしてしまいには、

「彼は彼女の息子?」

この「彼女」とはのこと。
(上司のお父さんは私のこともその場にいないかのように話します。)

これを聞いた瞬間、上司のお母さんと私は以前の
「22歳以上にみえない」コメントを思い出し、再び笑い出しました。

上司のお父さんはこれをみて、私たちが彼のことを笑っていると思ったらしく、

「なんで彼女は笑うんだ、」と身構えるように言い、

「充分可能性ありだろ?なんで彼女は笑ってるんだ!」と繰り返しました。

私と上司のお母さんは笑いを一生懸命こらえるばかり。

でも考えれば考えるほど余計おかしくて、何度も思い出し笑いをしてしまったのは、
一体どうやって上司のお父さんが年齢以外の面でこの発想が浮かんだのかという疑問。
何せ私はご存知の通り正真正銘の日本人で、
ユバルの甥っ子はアシュケナジー(東ヨーロッパ)とベルギー人のハーフ。
茶色が混じったブロンドの髪にブルーの瞳ですよ??
どうやって、、、?あ〜 笑える。

これで思い出したのはもう10年前以上になるある友人のウェディングでのこと。
当時大の仲良しだったある友達と私が、色んな人に姉妹と間違えられたのです。
しかし私の友達は100%の白人。
確かに二人とも同じぐらいの髪の長さだったし、
彼女の髪の毛の色は私と負けないぐらいの真っ黒。
でも毎回姉妹かと聞かれるたびに二人で静かに笑いながら
「この人達マジ?」を繰り返したのでした。
後からお互い間違えられておかしいと同時に嬉しかったことを認め合ったのは事実ですが。
当時は本当にまるで姉妹なように仲が良かったんです。

皆様の一週間はどうでしたか?笑える瞬間がありましたか?
では素晴らしい週末を!

Much love,
Kaori

2 Comments leave one →
  1. praisethelorne permalink
    July 28, 2012 10:28 pm

    Enough! Everyone knows Japanese women never age. The smart ones go onto American television with infomercials hocking crap in the cream form that they describe as ‘ancient Eastern secrets’ to keeping your skin youthful.

    • July 29, 2012 6:27 pm

      Haha! There is never a shortage of magical crap creams sold in Japan too. We do age, but people in the West seem to not look at us closely🙂

Leave a Reply

