Skip to content

7 June 2012 (Yes yes yes)

June 7, 2012

My co-worker suddenly came up to me today and said, “Let me show you something.”

She told me to pinch my forefinger and thumb together as tight as I can.

“Then continue to say, yes yes yes yes! Don’t stop!” she commanded. When she saw that I was indeed pinching together my fingers and saying yes over and over again, she tried to pry open my fingers. She failed.

“Now,” she continued, “Do the same thing, but say no no no no no!”

I obeyed, and when she tried to pry open my fingers again, she succeeded this time.

“See!” she said, looking satisfied. “Same result for every person!”

“It’s all in the head,” I replied, instantly understanding where this was going.

“If you say YES to something, you can do it! But if you say NO from the beginning, that’s what you’ll get,” she said.

I found this a bit surprising coming from my co-worker who my boss, her brother, and I sometimes joke (with love) about how she is the queen of pessimism and complaints.

But YES indeed is the right attitude. I know this, but it’s not so easy always being YES.

今日仕事仲間が突然、「一つ見せたいことがあるの。」と近寄ってきた。

そして人差し指と親指を思いっきり力強く合わせて、と言う。

「おさえながらYESを言い続けるの!Yes、Yes、Yes、って!」

私が言われた通りにしているのを確認してから、彼女は私の二本の指を引き離そうとしました。
でも私の指は離れませんでした。

「じゃあ次は同じことをしながらNOを繰り返して!」

私がそのようにして彼女が再び指を引き離そうとすると、今回はすんなり成功。

「ほらね!」と彼女は満足気。「試した人全て同じ結果!」

「全部精神的な問題なのね、」と私は彼女の「実験」の意味が即理解できました。

「何でもYESと言えばできるのよ!でも最初っからNOと言ったら結果もそう。」と彼女。

ちょっとびっくりしたのは、たまに私と上司と上司の弟が(愛がこもった)冗談で
この仕事仲間を悲観的女王だとか文句姫とか呼ぶような人の口から、このようなことを聞いたこと。

YESは確かにいい態度ですよね。
これはわかっているけど、常にYESでいるのはかなり難しい。

Much love,
Kaori

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

