Skip to content

24 April 2012

April 24, 2012

Kibbutz amphitheater | キブツの円形劇場

I took this photo of a kibbutz amphitheater nearly two years ago in May 2010, shortly after I arrived in Israel.

This amphitheater belongs to the kibbutz Yuval and I used to live (we now live in the kibbutz next door) and where I currently work.

I imagine the amphitheater is looking completely different from the above photo right now. The main topic at work this morning was how everyone was scrambling to secure seats there for the big Yom HaAtsumaot (Independence Day) celebration starting from tomorrow evening. So the stage must be filled with all kinds of lights and mics and sound systems, and the seats must be covered with all kinds of things people use to block them off.

It will be two years since I came to Israel this coming May, but I actually haven’t experienced Independence Day yet. The first year I had arrived right afterwards, and last year I was in Japan.

The other day I mentioned how there were flags popping up everywhere and today I noticed them on many cars. People really get in to the spirit here, it seems! Celebrations begin tomorrow and all throughout the weekend. I’ll see what it’s all about!

上の写真は私がイスラエルに来て間もない2010年の5月に撮ったもの。

この円形劇場は当時私たちが住んでいたキブツにあります。
(現在私たちはすぐ隣のキブツに住んでいますが、私の職場はこの円形劇場のキブツ。
わかりにくいですよね!笑)

現在この円形劇場は上の写真とは全く違う状況にあると思います。
なぜなら今朝職場での一番の話題だったのは明日の夜から始まる劇場での
ヨム・ハアツマオットゥ(独立記念日)のお祝い行事のために
いかに早く席を確保するか、ということだったんです。
だからステージは多分照明やマイク、音響システムなどでいっぱいだろうし、
席もビニールシートや何やらでいっぱいなのでしょう。
(イスラエル人って席を確保するために何使うんだろう?
ビニールシートっていかにも日本人っぽいですよね)

来月で私がイスラエルに来てから二年たちますが、実は私まだ独立記念日を体験したことないんです。
一年目は直後に来て、去年は日本にいました。

先日国旗をそこら中でみるようになったと書きましたが、
今日はたくさんの車にもみかけました。
お祝いモードが日に日に高まってきています。
明日の夜から週末を通してずっとお祝いは続くみたいなので、
初めての独立記念日、楽しみたいと思います。

Much love,
Kaori

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

