Skip to content

27 March 2012 (The Beep!ing Owl)

March 27, 2012

On our way back from the kibbutz convenience store today, I suddenly heard a familiar sound. The BOP! cry of an owl that can be heard after dark these days. But the sun still hadn’t set yet.

“I don’t even know how to look it up on the Internet! How do you look up an owl that makes a BOP! sound?” We overheard a guy saying.

I couldn’t help laughing because I’ve had the exact same thought before. I still don’t know the name of this owl or what it looks like, but can recognize its cry immediately. To me it sounds more like the beeping of some electronic device (does this seem too typical of a way of thinking of a Japanese from Tokyo??). That’s what I honestly thought I was hearing when I heard it for the first time, because the cries are so persistent with the exact same intervals, it almost sounds automated.

So… how does one search an owl online with only the sound of its cry as a clue? I don’t think imitating the sound in front of my computer will help, will it??

Much love,
Kaori

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sammi Moe permalink
    March 28, 2012 7:09 pm

    I went to Google, typed in “owls that make a bop sound, and this one came up. It is called a Whet Owl, and then I added “in Israel” and the list of owls that appeared shows one that looks the same but is called the Little Owl. Could that be it? By the way, your blog page also was something that appeared on the list.😉
    The intersting information that came up with all this also had a bit about what was thought to be military radar noises, but turned out to be owls.
    Thanks for giving me something to look up that was different than my usual life stuff. Made me do something different and interesting! Let me know if this is the one, if you ever can confirm this. Such fun!
    Love,
    Sammi

    • March 28, 2012 8:23 pm

      Wow Sammi! Thanks for the research🙂 This Little Owl sounds right, as I recall someone referring to them as that, but I thought they were simply calling them “little”. I did the same Google search now and was pleased to see some pictures. Now I can imagine the owl in my head when I hear them hooting!

Leave a Reply

