Skip to content

24 January 2012 (What the Cat May Know)

January 24, 2012
tags: , ,

A few days ago Yuval told me that our Cat apparently seems to understand us much more than we give him credit for. He was telling me how one time he was trying to eat a sandwich and the Cat jumped up to the chair next to him and would not stop meowing, practically about to rip the sandwich right out of his hands. So Yuval simply told the Cat that no, he wasn’t giving him any and that he better get off the chair now!! But without any hand gestures, just words. And Yuval claims the Cat got off the chair and went away.

At the time I was only half convinced, but every time I see the Cat now I find myself being conscious of what Yuval told me. This is making me realize that up until now I treated him as if he could not understand me (well of course!). I mean he understands no and bad cat and the tone of my voice when I say those things. But now I talk to him more like a human being. Someone help me now!!

私たちの猫は実は私たちが思っているより、私たちが言っていることを
理解しているのでは、、、こんなことをユバルと数日前話しました。

ある日ユバルがサンドイッチを食べようとしていたら、
猫がいつものように隣の椅子に飛び乗り、
ミャーミャーと今でもサンドイッチを奪うかのように泣き止まなかったそうです。
なのでユバルはダメ、あげないよ、椅子から降りなさい、
と、なんのジェスチャーもなしにただ言葉だけで猫に言ったら、
不思議なことに猫は言われた通り椅子から降りて、泣き止んだみたいです。

その話を聞いた当時、ちょっとドキっとはしましたが
正直あまり信じていませんでした。
でもそれ以来、猫をみるたび、ユバルの話を意識してしまう自分がいます。
そして、今までは猫が私の言っていることを理解していないことを前提に
彼に話していたことに気付かされています。
(て言うか理解していないのは当たり前!だし。、、、だよね?)
もちろんダメ!とか叱るときの私の声のトーンを
理解しているのは今までも明らかだったのですが、
ユバルの話を聞いて以来、猫にをもっと人間みたいに話しかける自分がいるんです。
誰か助けてください〜 笑

Much love,
Kaori

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2012 11:06 pm

    あ、かおりさんもMacBook Proですね?

    うちの犬も「シューシュー」と呼べばやって来て、
    「ズーズ」と言えばどいてくれます。

    ただ、声のトーンやこちらの動作も考慮に入っているようです。
    例えば着替えだすと外に散歩に連れて行ってもらえると思ってテンションが高くなります。
    でも絶対に連れて行かない時間帯だと理解するとねっ転がったままです。

    思うに犬は一、二歳児ぐらいの知能はあるのでは?猫はもう少し低いかな?(これまで何匹か飼ってました)
    つまりこちらの喜怒哀楽や簡単な命令は理解できるってところでしょう。

    • January 26, 2012 6:11 pm

      犬はまた猫とは違った勘の鋭さというか、もうちょっと人間っぽいというか 笑
      いちいちのことに反応というか、感情が期待できそうですよね。
      猫に対しては私は逆にあまり期待していなかったので、よりびっくりしているのかもしれません。

      MacBook Pro、いいですよね☆

  2. David permalink
    January 30, 2012 4:57 pm

    Haruki Marukami has many intelligent cats as characters in his novels and they are able to communicate with some of his, albeit strange, human characters.

    BTW, I found your blog my doing a search for meuleh on the web. I love it.

    • January 30, 2012 7:16 pm

      Hi David, I’m thrilled you stumbled upon my blog🙂

      That’s funny, I just ordered a collection of short stories by Haruki Murakami yesterday. Maybe some of them will have cats in it? I would love to see how he portrays them.

      By the way I featured an award acceptance speech by Mr. Murakami last year:
      https://muchlovekaori.wordpress.com/2011/06/14/119/

Leave a Reply

