Skip to content

19 January 2012 (Belly Dance Festival Day 2)

January 19, 2012

I am quickly realizing that there is a lot more to belly dance than I expected.

Just today, I learned three different styles of dance: Baladi, Shaabi, Sharqi.
And I couldn’t tell them apart.

The first two classes I took were also taught by male teachers, making me totally reconsider the impression I had that “belly dance is a dance for women only”.

Learning something new is so many things at once. On the one hand it’s exciting, refreshing, fun. But it can also at times be frustrating, confusing, overwhelming. I studied West African dance pretty intensively for the last 10 or so years, and after building up all that knowledge (along with passion, love, devotion…), it can be frustrating to be back to zero again. Back to being a beginner.

But it can also be liberating, in a way only unique to being a beginner. I am able to see it all with a fresh set of eyes, fearless, invincible. The possibilities seem endless.

I lucked out with my roommate. She is from France and is the sweetest person. Unlike me she has been studying belly dance for 11 years, so I’m hoping to bombard her with all my beginner’s questions.

There is a dance competition tonight and another girl from France made it to the finals. She sat with us at dinner but left shortly without barely touching her food. I can just imagine the nerves!!

I sat through dinner mostly not understanding what was being talked about, which is something I have become used to in Israel. Except this time it was in French, as my roommate invited me to join her and a couple other French girls. After such rapid chatter where I understood absolutely nothing, Hebrew chatter strangely feels softer to my ears.

ベリーダンスが自分が思ってたよりかなり深いことに気付かされています。

今日だけでも三種類のダンスのクラスを受けました。
バラディ、シャアビィ、シャルキィ
でも私の慣れない目と耳では、三つの区別がまだつきません。

また、受けたクラスのうち最初の二つの先生は男性。
私のいままでの「ベリーダンスは女性のダンス」という印象はがらりと塗り替えられました。

何か新しいことを始める時、一気に色んなことを感じます。
ある一方ではもちろん刺激的で、新鮮で、楽しい。
でもその反面、フラストレーションがたまったり、混乱したり、
あまりにもわからないことばかりに圧倒されてしまったり。

私はここ約10年間ほど、アフリカンダンスをかなり集中的に学んできました。
これほどある一つのダンスに情熱と愛をそそぎ、知識を重ねてきた今、
全く別のダンスを始めゼロに戻る、初心者に戻ることは
時にフラストレーションがたまってしまいます。

でも初心者だからこそ感じる解放感もある。
何もかも新鮮な目でみることができ、
何でもできてしまう気がする。
可能性が無限に感じるのです。

ルームメート運はかなりラッキーでした。
彼女はフランス人で、とてもキュートで優しい子。
私と違ってベリーダンス歴11年なので、
わからないことは彼女に聞こうと思います。

今夜はフェスティバルの重大イベントのダンス・コンテストがあります。
ほかにフランスから来たうちの一人が決勝に進みました。
彼女も一緒に夜ご飯を食べに来たのですが、食事にほとんど手をつけずに部屋に戻りました。
かなり緊張しているのでしょう!

今夜の夜ご飯での会話は私はほとんど理解できませんでした。
これはイスラエルに来てからもう慣れっこなのですが、
今夜の言語はヘブライ語ではなくフランス語。
ルームメートがほかのフランス人数人との約束に誘ってくれたからです。
全くと言っていいほど理解できなかった早口のフランス語の後聞くヘブライ語は、
不思議とソフトで懐かしく感じます。

Much love,
Kaori

2 Comments leave one →
  1. miko permalink
    January 24, 2012 2:30 pm

    おかえりなさい。
    ベリーダンスの熱気が伝わってくる。 素敵。
    私はダンスなんてまったく習ったこともないし、踊るセンスなんてないと思うけれどベリーダンスの音楽や衣装から入り込んでもいいかしら?とても魅力的だしセクシーよね。

    • January 24, 2012 7:06 pm

      ただいま!
      熱気は本当にすごかったよ〜 
      ベリーダンスはダンス初心者にとって優しいダンスだと思うよ!
      音楽に動かされるままにとても簡単なステップをいくつか踊ってみるだけで、
      すごい楽しいし、普段動かさない体の部分を動かせるし、「女」パワーを感じるよ☆

Leave a Reply

