Skip to content

160 (Preconceived notions | 先入観)

December 13, 2011

Preconceived notions and stereotypes seem to be a recurring theme with me lately.

The other day in the supermarket, Yuval and I were bickering about buying medium sized oranges vs. small oranges. (That’s not the most mundane topic we have ever bickered about, by the way!) To me it was just one of the many little bickering exchanges we have, half play and half out of habit I suppose, but then I caught a woman staring at us from across the aisle.

Although it was only for a brief second, her stare startled me, because I recognized that stare. Because I’ve looked at couples like that in the past. Whether it was in the context of, I can’t believe they bicker like that in public, or I can’t believe they’re bickering about something so stupid, or I’m so glad to not be them, or all of the above.

I saw the same woman again on our way out, when Yuval was talking away on his cellphone and I was walking a bit ahead of him, annoyed. Again, a stare I recognized. Perhaps this time it was something along the lines of, they don’t look like a happy couple.

Sure, that probably was far from some of our happiest moments, but that’s not how we are with each other all the time and it doesn’t represent our whole story. But a few days later when I was in a restaurant, I couldn’t help noticing that the couple sitting next to us weren’t talking to each other. The woman looked tired and the man was texting on his phone. Immediately a thought flashed through my head: are they on the verge of breaking up?? Before I realized and stopped myself. I guess I can never help having preconceived notions just as others. But the woman in the supermarket reminded me to never be too quick to judge or make assumptions.

Another recent incident was at work. My boss’s husband collects and sorts bottles in the kibbutz to be recycled and were showing us all the beautiful and intricately designed vodka bottles he found. One of the labels said Van Gough, and when he asked me if I knew it I assumed he was talking about the brand so I said no. “Oh, he’s a famous painter,” he told me. It took a little while for that to sink in, that he really thought I didn’t know who Van Gough was. I was so thrown off that I couldn’t reply, why yes, I’ve been to his museum. In Amsterdam.

A year ago I may have been offended, but now I know that my boss’s husband doesn’t mean any harm. Neither do the people who assume I’m one of the foreign immigrant workers who provide live-in care for the elderly (often referred to as “Philippini” although they’re not all from the Philippines, of course). Perhaps they have never met any Asian women in Israel who is not a Philippini. And perhaps to my boss’s husband, Japan is such a foreign place to him that it is totally possible for people there to have never seen or heard of a Van Gough painting.

先入観ステレオタイプ
最近私の中でちょっとしたテーマになっているようです。

先日スーパーでユバルと大きいオレンジか小さいオレンジを買うか軽い言い合いをしていた時のこと。
(ちなみに「オレンジ」よりもっとつまらないことでケンカしたことは無限にあります!)
半分は遊びで半分は習慣からくるようなどうでもいい言い合いのつもりでしたが
ふと見上げたら私たちをじっとみている女性に気付きました。

ほんの数秒のことでしたがハッとさせれました。
彼女の視線に見覚えがあったからです。
それもそのはず、自分自身同じ視線でカップルをみたことがあるから。
視線の内容が公の場であんなふうに口喧嘩するなんて信じられない
もしくはなんてつまらないことで喧嘩しているんだろう
それともうわっ仲悪そう、のどれかであったり、
もしくは全てであったり。

私たちがスーパーを出る間際に、同じ女性の前を通りました。
その時ユバルは大きな声で携帯電話で話していて、私はうるさいのでちょっと前を歩いていました。
再び見覚えがある視線。
今回は幸せそうなカップルじゃないな、のような内容のもの。

確かに仲良しとはとても言えない時間でしたが、
もちろん私たちがいつもそうであるわけではない。
でも数日後レストランで食事をしていた時、
隣にすわっているカップルが会話をしていないことに気付かずにはいられませんでした。
女性はとても疲れているようにみえ、男性は携帯をいじっていました。
もしかしたら別れ際?!
という思いがとっさに私の頭をよぎりました。
そしてすぐにそんな自分に気付き、慌ててそのような考えをするのをやめたのでした。
先入観を持つことは止められないかもしれないけれど、
人を見た目ですぐに判断しないことを
先日のスーパーの女性に思い出させられたのでした。

もう一つの出来事は仕事にて。
私の上司の旦那さんはキブツ中の缶やボトルをリサイクル用に収集し管理しています。
先日、美しく繊細にデザインされたウォッカのボトルを数本みせてくれました。
そのうちのひとつに「Van Gough(ゴッホ)」とかかれていて、
旦那さんが「知ってる?」と聞くので、
当然ブランドのことを聞かれているのかと思い「知らない」と答えると、
「彼はとても有名な画家なんだよ」と言われました。
私がゴッホのことを聞いたこともないと思われたことがショックで、
一瞬何も言い返せませんでした。
後からして、
知ってるどころか私アムステルダムにあるゴッホ美術館にも行ったことがあるのよ!
と言えばよかった〜!と思った時には既に遅し。

一年前だったら腹を立てていたかもしれませんが、
今は上司の旦那さんに悪気がないことはわかる。
私がイスラエルにたくさんいるアジア系のお年寄りの住み込みヘルパー
のうちの一人だと最初から見なす人達だってそう。
このヘルパーさんたちは「フィリピーニ」と呼ばれることが多いのですが、
(もちろんフィリピン以外の国出身の人もたくさんいるけど)
私もそのうちの一人と見なす人達はイスラエル国内で逆にフィリピーニではない
アジア人に会ったことがないのかもしれない。
そして上司の旦那さんにとって日本は全くの未知の世界で、
そこに住む人々がゴッホの名前を聞いたことも
絵をみたこともないことが全くありえることなのでしょう。

Much love,
Kaori

2 Comments leave one →
  1. すみれ permalink
    December 15, 2011 1:56 pm

    かおりちゃん、議論好きなイスラエル人に近づいているね(笑)

    どうでもいい言い合い、わかるわかる。うちもよくしてる。その時はイライラするけど、
    最後にはすっきりする気がするよ。(旦那さんがかわいそう?!)

    ゴッホの事知らないという先入観が、私たちには不思議だよね!

    • December 15, 2011 6:53 pm

      イスラエル人っぽくなってきちゃってる、私!やばい、やばい 笑

      考えてみるとイスラエルではカップルに限らず、友人・同僚・兄弟・親子、
      誰でもどうでも言い合いしている気がする。
      そしてみんな言い合った後はすっきりしてる 笑
      (そして忘れてる?それは謎)
      中にためるよりいいよね☆

Leave a Reply

