Skip to content

147 (THAT SONG: Idan Raichel)

September 19, 2011


.
.
The idea to introduce my favorite Israeli songs here on the blog have been brewing for a while now, inspired by one song in particular. Unfortunately, that song still remains a mystery. I just know what it sounds like and I sang it to Yuval but he didn’t recognize it, and I’ve been too shy to try singing it to anyone else. I’ve been waiting for it to come on the radio at work so I can grab one of my co-workers and ask, “Mi zot?! (Who is this?!)” But the opportunity has not presented itself yet.

It’s strange, because for a few days it seemed to be played pretty frequently, enough for me to eventually fall in love with the song. Is it a recent hit that has dwindled in popularity? Or did it receive temporary frequent air time because of some event related to the artist? What kills me is all these unanswered questions are due to my limited Hebrew. If the song was in English I would do what I always do, Google a portion of the lyrics, and I would have all answers in a matter of seconds.

But for now my quest for the mystery song continues (I think I may have to bust out in song at work soon) and in the meantime, I figured I’ll start introducing other songs I have learned to like since coming to Israel.

Today’s song is by Idan Raichel. I first heard his music in the car of my first Japanese friend here in Israel, who described him as Israel’s Tetsuya Komuro (a mega producer/songwriter/artist in Japan that churned out tons of hits in the 90’s. Sort of like the Puff Daddy… or whatever he goes by now… of Japan, maybe? Please excuse the super dated reference!) Shortly after I found out he was coming to perform in an amphitheater located 5 minutes away by car, and Yuval and I went to see him. He collaborates with artists from diverse backgrounds and incorporates their languages as well as musical styles and instruments in to his music.

Chalomot Shel Acherim (Other People’s Dreams)
By Idan Raichel

Chorus:

יוצא שאת תמיד שותקת
אבל בפנים זה בוער ונשרף הכל,
כל המילים שנעלמו
תמצאי אותן בחלומות של אחרים…

(English translation via Idan Raichel’s website)

It’s better to run to the flames
Demand
Not ask
What are you afraid of?
Don’t think twice when he says
There is no better time
Bring on the day

I still don’t really understand what the song is about even after reading the translation. Perhaps even decades of learning Hebrew will never allow me to understand the true meaning behind the words. (There are songs in Japanese and English that I don’t fully understand.) But I think the song is a beautiful listen, and if I’ve intrigued you enough to click and give it a try, I do hope you enjoy.
.
.
このブログで私がイスラエルに来てから好きになったイスラエル発の歌を紹介したいな、
というアイディアが浮かんだのはある特定の歌のためでした。
でも残念ながら、その歌は未だにミステリー。
言葉ができないので、覚えているのはメロディーのみ。
ユバルに歌ってみたけど反応はなく、他の人に歌ってみるのはちょっと恥ずかしい。
職場のラジオでかかった瞬間「ミ ゾットゥ?!(これは誰?!)」と誰かに
聞く機会を待ちわびているのですが、まだかかっていないのです。

でも私が何度か聴くうちに惚れ込んだぐらい頻繁にかかっていたのに、
なぜぴたりとラジオで流れなくなってしまったのでしょう。
人気度が下がりつつあるヒット曲?
それともアーティストにからんだ何かの理由かイベントにちなんで
数日頻繁にかかっていたのかな?
悔しいのは、ヘブライ語の問題がなかったらこれらの疑問はあっと言う間に
解消されるだろうとのこと。
「いいな」と思った英語や日本語の曲は、流れているうちにできるだけ歌詞を覚えて、
グーグル検索をすれば、すぐにアーティストと曲名がわかるのに。

しかし現実は現実、この「ミステリー・ソング」の追求は続きますが
(職場で歌ってみる日は遠くないかも、、、)
その間、イスラエルに来てから好きになった他の曲を紹介したいと思います。

今日の歌はイダン・ライヘルによるもの。
最初に彼の音楽を聞いたのはイスラエルでできた一番最初の日本人の友達の車の中。
彼女が、「彼はイスラエルの小室哲哉さんみたいな人だよ。」と言ったのが印象に残ってます。
彼は広範囲に渡る様々な国籍・人種のアーティストとコラボを組んでおり、
ヘブライ語以外の言葉や色んな民族楽器や音楽スタイルを取り入れています。
友達の車の中で彼の音楽を聞いてから間もなく、車で5分で行けるライブ劇場に
彼が来ることを発見。迷わず行って来ました

ハロモットゥ・シェル・アヘリム(他の人達の夢)
イダン・ライヘル

コーラス:

יוצא שאת תמיד שותקת
אבל בפנים זה בוער ונשרף הכל,
כל המילים שנעלמו
תמצאי אותן בחלומות של אחרים…

炎に走って向かって
お願いするのではなく
要求をする
何を恐れている?
彼が「今以上にいい時はない」と言ったら
ためらわず
その日を迎えよう

彼の正式ホームページに掲載されている英語の翻訳を読んでも歌の意味が良くわかりません。
これは何十年ヘブライ語を勉強しても完全に理解しきれない微妙な言葉の使い方、
もしくは表現の仕方かもしれませんね。
(日本語・英語の歌でも意味が完全にわからない歌はあるし、、、)
でもとてもきれいな歌だと思います。
もし実際クリックして聞いてみようと思った方は、エンジョイしてくださいね。

Much love,
Kaori

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sammi Moe permalink
    September 20, 2011 5:16 am

    Sing like no one is listening! I think this song is about not being afraid to be yourself. Be strong. Live your life! Seize the day.
    Thanks for sharing with us Kaori!

    • September 20, 2011 9:48 pm

      Always happy to share! And I love hearing your interpretation.
      xo

Trackbacks

  1. 166 (THE SONG: Yael Deckelbaum) « Meuleh! מעולה | Meuleh | メウレ

Leave a Reply

