Skip to content

143

September 4, 2011

Something I heard the other day made me seriously consider what Yuval and I’ve been contemplating for a while now: getting a TV.

Right now we rely on our laptops for all our information and entertainment. And I hate to admit it, but the world I’ve created on my laptop is rather narrow and limited. It’s comfortable and just the way I like it… but limited.

A podcast I listened to recently got me thinking about this. I may be the last person on the world to learn this, but did you know that Google now provides different searches for different people based on their past behavior and past interests? Yahoo News and The New York Times are also starting to do the same thing.

With all these tailored searches, the unlimited universe that was the Internet is suddenly starting to feel restricted. And worse, out of my control. That’s a bit of a scary thought, especially if the Internet is my main source of information right now. (I hear the news on the radio at work but on a good day I might understand half of it.)

One of the things I have always loved about the Internet is that it makes the world accessible. It’s so much easier to stay in touch with friends and family living far away. If I ever want an escape from reality, a glimpse of the most exotic places imaginable is at my fingertips. And here in Israel, I am more than grateful how accessible Japan is. I can view all of my favorite Japanese websites in the exact same way I used to when I lived in Tokyo. (The days of only being able to go online overseas in Internet cafes where the keyboards were in the local language and Japanese did not translate on their screens are behind me, thank goodness.)

But on the other hand, when I am online it’s almost as if I’m not even in Israel. I’ve created a routine for myself of checking my favorite sites that are either in Japanese or English. There have been many instances where I knew much more about the news in Japan than what was going on right here in Israel. How bizarre is that? And while I appreciate and depend on the English websites based in Israel (I would be completely in the Internet dark without them), every time I search for something about Israel in English or Japanese I imagine just how much wider my results would be if I could do it in Hebrew.

A television on the other hand will expose me to Israeli news and programming that I will never likely get online mostly due to my limited Hebrew. Just a handful of channels may expose me to much more than the “unlimited” choices I currently have online of Googling for a clip, show, or movie.

It may seem like a step backwards abandoning our laptop lives for a basic TV, but it’s looking like the right direction for me right now. I’ll let you know if and when we get one!

先日あることを耳にしてから、ここ最近ユバルと検討していたことを
更に真剣に考えるようになりました。
それは、テレビを買うこと。

現在はお互いのノートパソコンが私たちの情報と娯楽源。
認めたくないことですが、私のノートパソコン上で繰り広げられる世界は、
はっきり言って狭くて限られた世界。
居心地が良く、自分の理想通りの世界ですが、、、間違いなく狭い。

最近聞いたポッドキャストがこのことを考えるきっかけになりました。
私が遅れているのかもしれませんが、グーグルが検索結果を、検索する個人個人によって
違う結果を表示するようになったことは知っていましたか?
その人のネット上の履歴や関心を示したことをもとに、検索結果が調整されるんだそうです。
ヤフーニュースやニューヨーク・タイムズも同じようなことをしているそう。

このような個人個人に調整された検索結果の話を聞くと、
今まで無限と感じていたネットの世界が突然とても制限されたものに感じてしまいます。
しかも、自分のコントロールは利かず勝手に設定されてしまうことを考えるとなおさら。
特に私は現在情報はネットに頼りっきりなので、、、すごい自分の世界が縮んだ気分。
(仕事中ラジオのニュースは聞くのですが半分理解できればいいほうなので。)

私にとってインターネットの一番素晴らしいと思えることは世界がいい意味で狭くなったこと。
どんなに遠く離れた家族や友達とも連絡が簡単にとれる。
現実逃避したい時には想像もできないようなエキゾチックな場所の景色や様子がみれる。
ここイスラエルでも、ネットを通じて日本がとても身近に感じられます。
日本でみていた時とまるっきり同じように、日本の情報やサイトがみれるのですから。
(ひと昔前は海外へ行くたびネットカフェに入っては現地特有のキーボードと
日本語が文字化けするスクリーンに苦労したのを思い出します。)

でもその反面、ネット上で時間を過ごしている時はまるでイスラエルにいないかのよう。
毎日チェックするサイトは日本語か英語のもの。
今までに身近なイスラエルで起きていることよりも日本のニュースのほうが
詳しかったたことがたくさんありました。不思議ですよね!
現在イスラエルの情報をネット上で入手する場合は英語か日本語のサイト。
これらのサイトなしでは本当に全くの暗闇にいるところなので、存在をありがたく感じる反面、
イスラエル関連の検索を英語か日本語でするたび、ヘブライ語でできたらはるかに結果が広く、
ローカルなものになるのではと思ってしまいます。

でもテレビがあったら、イスラエルのニュースや番組がたくさんみれます。
ネットの世界では存在すら知ることのないようなものがたくさん。
だから不思議なことに今は、テレビで無料でみれる(ケーブルではない)
わずかなチャンネルのほうが、好きな時に、好きなクリップ・番組・映画をみれる
「無限」のネット上より私にとって選択権が広がる気がするのです。

ここまで書いといてまだ完全に買うと決まったわけではないんだけど(!)
もし買ったら報告しますね〜☆

Much love,
Kaori

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

