Skip to content

139 (Quiet companion | 静かな者同士)

August 24, 2011

The 15-year old daughter of one of the women that works at the laundry has been working with us during her summer break. Yesterday was her last day as school starts next week.

She struck me as very mature and responsible for a 15 year old. She didn’t display any goofiness or obsession in gadgets like you would in any typical teenager. She was extremely focused and always concentrated on getting the job done. But more than anything, what I noticed was that she was unusually quiet for an Israeli and when she spoke you could barely hear her.

I am also soft spoken by nature. Even in Japan people would often ask me to speak up, but now in Israel where the average voice level seems significantly louder than Japan, my voice feels even more smaller. (I know I should just try to speak louder, but the combination of my lack of confidence in speaking Hebrew and my shy personality makes that a very difficult task.)

With this 15 year old, even though we couldn’t understand each other very much verbally, I felt I had something in common with her. I felt a certain comfort and ease in the silence between us. She is supposed to come back to help us during all her holidays in the future, but I’m going to miss seeing her every day.

クリーニングで一緒に働いている女性の15歳の娘さんが、
夏休み期間中助っ人として働いていました。
でも来週から学校が始まるので、昨日が彼女の最終日でした。

彼女は15歳にしてはとても落ち着いていて、責任感がある子。
きゃぴきゃぴしてないし、ひたすら黙々と作業をし、とても集中力があります。
そしてイスラエル人にはめずらしくとてもおとなしく、
しゃべる時もほとんど聞こえないくらい声が小さいのです。

私自身、もともと声は小さいほう。
日本でもたびたび「良く聞こえない」と言われるくらいなのに、
イスラエルでは全体的に声の大きさの平均が大きいので、
余計自分の声が小さく感じます。
(って、単にもっと大きくしゃべる努力をすればいいのですよね。
でもヘブライ語の自信のなさともともとシャイな性格のおかげで
声は大きくなるどころか更に小さくなっている気がします。)

なので、言葉はあまり通じなくても私はこの15歳に何か共通するものを感じたのでした。
無口同士、一緒に作業をする時は静けさの中に安心感のようなものが流れていた気がします。
今後も学校が休みの時はいつも働きに来てくれるみたいですが、
毎日彼女会えなくなることを考えるとちょっと寂しいです。

Much love,
Kaori

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2011 10:04 am

    いやぁ~、今日はもう237日目ですか。。。
    早いものですねぇ。

    草食系の人は私たちには貴重な存在ですよね。
    まるで砂漠の中のオアシスの様。。。 (苦笑)

    • August 26, 2011 5:17 pm

      「草食系」と読んでしばらく、ん?と考えてしまいました。
      あまりにもイスラエル人からかけ離れているので、
      エントリーに書いた子と結びつくのに時間がかかりました 笑

      本当、私よりしゃべる声が小さい人にまさかイスラエルで出逢うとは
      思ってもいませんでした!

Trackbacks

  1. 145 (Lunch at work | 仕事でとる昼食) « Meuleh! מעולה | Meuleh | メウレ
  2. 154 « Meuleh! מעולה | Meuleh | メウレ

Leave a Reply

