Skip to content

133

August 2, 2011

From the 365 Day Hebrew Art Project:

כביסה

Pronunciation: Ku-vee-SAH
Definition: Laundry

発音:クヴィ
意味:洗濯

.
.
The other day, my boss at the laundry told me about the numerous foreigners that have worked for her in the past. She spoke fondly of two women, from U.S. and Canada respectively, who learned quickly (“Like you,” she added with a wink), and after 2~3 years of working there were speaking Hebrew fluently, despite never going to the ulpan (Hebrew language school).

Next she went on to talk about some of the disaster cases of past foreign workers, the ones that never got it, never learned, never listened to instructions.

“This one man, he would say, ken (yes), ken, ken, to everything,” she said, “but never did anything in the way we asked him to! So we had to tell him goodbye.”

(She kindly limits her vocabulary to the very basics when talking to me.)

I went home and told Yuval about this, and his response was,

“Well, it’s not a complicated job. If someone can’t learn it, I think it’s an attitude problem.”

Whether it was an attitude problem or not, the South African Man (introduced previously in this post) was fired. I knew everyone wasn’t happy about him, but I didn’t expect him to be let go, and so soon.

The South African Man is in his 50’s. Before making aliyah to Israel two years ago, he told me he had a successful business back in South Africa and still owns a house there. He did, however, had to carry 5 guns between him and his wife. A kibbutz must be a great change, especially for his children, in that regard. He told me his wife learned Hebrew in a year and his kids only speak in Hebrew now. That can’t be easy, when he is still obviously struggling with the language.

Whether he subconsciously refused to learn the job or not, being fired must be a blow to his ego. If taking this job in the first place wasn’t a blow to his ego already.

This made me realize I may very well have ended in the same situation myself, if it weren’t for a humiliating experience from a few weeks ago. Something I couldn’t bring myself to share here on the blog while it was happening.

I had interviewed with a nearby chocolate factory for a chocolate making position in early June. I was all prepared to dodge the inevitable fact that I’ve never worked in a chocolate making or kitchen position whatsoever – I would tell them that I love to bake and also to draw and illustrate in detail – a proof that I am “good with my hands” (a requirement in the job posting). For once, my lack of Hebrew shouldn’t be a problem, I had thought.

But the first thing they asked me after we sat down was, “How good is your Hebrew?”

That was their main concern as one of the managers didn’t speak any English at all. They were also worried that since the workplace was all women and they like to talk a lot, I may think they were talking about me.

I did my best to convince them that I understand a lot more than I could speak, and joked that if they were ever talking me about me, that I would be able to pick up regardless of my language skills.

Although we shared some laughs and the interview didn’t end in a negative tone, I felt their hesitance towards me. I left not feeling totally optimistic, thinking the chances were about half and half.

To be continued…

ある日、クリーニングの上司が今までに雇った外国人スタッフのことを話してくれました。
アメリカ人とカナダ人の女性二人について懐かしそうに話し、
二人ともとても覚えが早かったこと(ウィンクをしながら「あなたみたいにね」)、
そして約二、三年働いた間にウルパン(語学学校)に通わなかったにも関わらず
ヘブライ語がしゃべれるようになっていたこと。

その次に外国人スタッフで最悪だったケースも話しくれました。
どうやっても仕事を覚えなかった人、指示を従わなかった人、など。

「ある男性はね、どの指示に対してもケーン(はい)、ケーンケーン、と答えるのだけれども、
いつも勝手に自己流に仕事をして、決められたやり方を無視したのよ!結局さよならと言ったわ。」

(ちなみに、彼女は私と話す時はとても簡単な言葉を選んで話しくれます)

家に帰ってユバルにこのことを話したら、彼の反応は、

「明らかに複雑な仕事じゃないからね。
いつまでたってもできない人は、態度の問題なんじゃない?」と。

態度の問題だったかどうかわかりませんが、
南アフリカ人男性(このエントリーで初登場した)が先日クビになってしまいました。
他のスタッフが彼の仕事ぶりに対して不満だったのはわかっていたけれど、まさかクビになるとは。
しかもこんな急に。

南アフリカ人男性は50代。二年前イスラエルに移住するまでは、
南アフリカで自分のビジネスを持っていたそうで、今でも持ち家があるそうです。
でも彼と彼の奥さんの間で常に5丁の銃を持ち歩かなくてはいけなかったらしいので、
その面でキブツは特に彼の子供にとってはるかに良い環境でしょう。
彼の奥さんは約一年でヘブライ語をマスターし、
彼の子供二人は今ではヘブライ語しか話さないそうです。
明らかにまだ言葉に不自由している彼にとっては、決して楽な状況ではないでしょう。

彼が無意識のうちに仕事を学ぶのを拒否したかどうかはわかりませんが、
クビになることはプライドが傷ついたことでしょう。
この仕事についたこと自体がプライドを傷つけたかもしれないのに。

でも私自身、数週間前のある屈辱的なことがなければ、
同じ状況になっていたかもしれない、と思う自分がいました。
実際起きていた時はこのブログで書く気にはとうていなれなかった、あること。

6月上旬に、近くのチョコレート工場に製造スタッフの面接に行きました。
過去にチョコレートどころか厨房や工場で何かを作る履歴が一切ないことに関しては、
何を言うか準備ができていました。
お菓子を作ることと、細かい絵を描くことが好きであること。
だから過去に経験がないけれど、応募条件の「手が器用であること」はクリアできていること。
何よりもヘブライ語がほとんどしゃべれないことは、
この仕事ではそんなに問題にならないだろうと思い込んでいたのでした。

でも面接でまず最初に聞かれたことは、「ヘブライ語はどれくらいしゃべれるの?」

なぜならば、二人いるマネージャーのうち一人が、英語を一切しゃべらないからとのこと。
また、女性のみの職場で、みんなおしゃべりが好きなので、
私が自分のことをうわさ話されていると思うのではないか、と心配だということ。

私はしゃべる能力よりかは理解力がはるかにあると彼女達に伝え、
もし自分のうわさ話をされているならば、それはきっと不思議ながら言葉がわからなくても
わかるものだよ、と冗談まで言いました。

面接中笑いも起こり、完全にマイナスな雰囲気ではなかったけれども、
私に対する彼女達のためらいは明らかでした。
ですから採用されるチャンスは50/50かな、、、と感じたのでした。

続く、、、

Much love,
Kaori

Leave a Reply

