Skip to content

106 (Paper cranes | 折り鶴)

April 13, 2011

Last week I had the opportunity to assist in a special class teaching origami in a local elementary school.
Rika, the Japanese woman who invited me, usually teaches Japanese in a university and other institutions.

The lesson was going to be folding cranes, and I didn’t want to seem unreliable to students by forgetting how to fold it in front of them (!), so I even rehearsed at home. It was good to know I still remembered!

The reason why Rika came to teach this special origami class was because her son’s class had been reading a story about the bombs dropped in Hiroshima and Nagasaki in their English class. The senbazuru (a thousand cranes) was mentioned in the story, and Rika decided why not take this opportunity to also talk about the recent earthquake and fold cranes with students to send to Japan.

Rika had already taught folding cranes in her university and other places and had gathered a few hundred. What an original senbazuru, with cranes folded by people of all ages and from various areas of Israel! I was so honored to be a part of this event.

先週、近くの小学校の授業で折り鶴を教えられる日本人の方のお手伝いをさせてもらいました。
声をかけてくださったRikaさんは普段大学などで日本語を教えていらっしゃいます。

子供達のお手伝いをする自分がちゃんと折れなかったら恥ずかしいと思い(笑)
事前に練習までしてしまいました。
ちゃんと覚えてました!よかった。

なぜRikaさんが折り鶴を教えることになったかと言うと、息子さんのクラスが英語の授業で広島・長崎の原爆の話を読んでいて、千羽鶴の話が出て来たのがきっかけ。これを機会に東日本大震災のことも話し、みんなで鶴を折って日本へ送ろう!という企画でした。

Rikaさんは職務先の大学や学校でも折り鶴を教えられ、既に数百羽集まったとのこと。
こうやってイスラエルの色んな年齢や地域の人によって作られた千羽鶴、素敵だなと思いました。
そして参加させてもらえることをとてもありがたく感じました。

The school had gathered two classes specially for the event. More than 40 Israeli kids in one room – what a burst of energy! I knew I wasn’t required to give any speeches or anything, but couldn’t help feel a bit nervous standing in front of all of them.

Since it was for an English class, everything was done in English. Even with their limited vocabulary, the students tried to ask questions. When asked, “Who knows what happened in Japan in March 11th?” A student struggled to explain about the earthquake and even about the nuclear reactors. If I had to do the same thing in Hebrew, I probably would have been stuck at “earthquake”! I was struck in awe with the effort of the children, and felt more than ever that I really need to try harder with my Hebrew.

当日は学校側がこの機会のために2クラスを一緒にまとめてくれました。
40人以上のイスラエル人の子供達。パワフル〜。
いくらスピーチとかしなくていいとわかっていてもちょっと緊張。

英語の授業だったので全ては英語で進行。
生徒達は限られた英語のボキャブラリーで一生懸命質問をしたり、
逆に「3月11日に日本で何が起こったか知ってる?」という問いかけに苦労しながらも地震と原子力発電所の話までしようとする生徒も。すごいな、と思いました。(私が同じことをヘブライ語で説明しようとしたら「地震」の時点でアウト、、、)そして私もヘブライ語をもっともっと頑張らなきゃ、と思いました。

Let the origami fun begin!
Despite a struggle here and there, the students did a superb job.

いざ、折り紙をトライ!
四苦八苦しながらも生徒さん達は皆上手に折っていました。

Students were asked to put their cranes in to a box Rika prepared.
The room erupted in to a joyful applause at the last crane!
最後に1人ずつ数えながらRikaさんが用意した箱へ鶴を入れていき、最後に達すると思わず拍手!

・・・・・

After the class successfully came to a close, Rika and us supporting members went to sit for coffee. There were two other Japanese women besides me, and a Argentinian woman who had lived in Japan for well over 10 years. There we sat, in the middle of a nearly empty small Israeli mall, creating a little Japanese oasis. I imagine something like that happens there once every few years! It was a few hours of fun, helpful information, and just plain comfort. It was also the first time in a while that I had a conversation in Japanese for that long of a period.

I learned from the women that there are various movements being started all over Israel to support Japan, so I hope to participate in future events!

学校でのイベントが無事終了した後は、Rikaさんとお手伝いしたメンバーでお茶をしに行きました。
私以外に日本人の方二人と、日本に10年以上住んだことがあるアルゼンチン人の方一人。
がらんとした小さなイスラエルのモールのど真ん中に私たちのとてもジャパニーズな空間。
恐らく数年に一度の光景だったのでは(笑)。
とても楽しく、ためになり、ほっとする数時間でした。
こんなに長い間日本語で会話することも久しぶりだったし。
東日本大震災の復興支援活動がイスラエル各地で広まっているみたいなので、
今後も積極的に参加したいと思います。

Much love,
Kaori

2 Comments leave one →
  1. miko permalink
    April 28, 2011 7:03 am

    素敵!! イスラエルの人たちが折った鶴は今頃日本に届いているのかな? 
    私の母がイスラエルを訪れたときに親戚の子供たちに折り紙を折ったら喜んでくれて、みんなで折り紙を折ったな。みんな角がそろわなくてイライラしながらも一生懸命だった。 

    • April 28, 2011 8:38 am

      そうかー、mikoのお母さんの折り紙も喜ばれたんだね。
      子供達が苦労しながら折る姿が目に浮かぶ 笑
      折り紙みたいに何気ない日本の文化、外国で紹介する機会があると
      素晴らしさを改めて発見する気がする。

Leave a Reply

