Skip to content

99

March 8, 2011

While Tokyo seems to have gotten some snow recently, temperatures hit a high of 25˚C (77˚F) here this past weekend. We went on a hike nearby and around 2pm, when we were close to the end, the sunlight felt too strong for our comfort. Since then temperatures seemed to have returned to somewhat “normal” (under 20ºC), but this is certainly not the March I am used to.

But I must tell you friends, that in my humble opinion this is the best time to visit Israel, especially up North where I live. Multitude of lush, rich shades of green blanket the landscape. When the first patches began to appear, I was in a mild shock because for one I had gotten so used to the dry, sandy landscape, and two because some of the shades of green were awfully bright, almost close to fluorescent. Even brighter than your average golf course. (Except that the grass here is all natural – sometimes hard to believe, given how shockingly bright it is!)

最近東京では雪が降ったみたいですが、こちらでは先週末最高気温が25˚C(77˚F)まで上がりました。近場にハイキングに行ったのですが、終わり間近の午後2時頃はもう太陽が暑すぎるぐらいでした。それ以来気温は平年並みに戻ったみたいですが(20˚C以下)、私が慣れている3月とはかなり違います。

しかし、私がイスラエルに来てから後2ヶ月ほどで丸一年になるのですが、今の時期が一番イスラエルに訪れるのにいい時期だと思います。特に私が住む北部の地域。風景全体がみずみずしく青々とした緑に覆われています。最初に緑が芽生え出した時はちょっとびっくりしたほど。何故ならば目が今までの乾き切った茶色い風景に慣れていたのと、緑の色が蛍光色に近い明るさだったからです。一般的なゴルフ場の芝生なんかよりもはるかに明るい。(でもゴルフ場と違ってここの緑はナチュラルだけど、たまに人工着色料が入ってるかと思うくらい明るい時も!)

Flowers are also blooming in abundance everywhere. Whether growing wildly or in carefully maintained home gardens, their bright colors splash all over the multiple shades of green. It really is an incredible sight and I am also often pleasantly surprised by their wonderful smells that float and linger in the air. (The yellow flowers seen above are also edible. They are mustard flowers, so they have a spicy zing to them.)

色んな種類のお花も今そこら中で満開です。野花であれ丁寧に育てられた家庭菜園であれ、たくさんの色があふれている。本当に美しいし、そこら中でいいにおいがします。(上の写真の黄色いお花は食べることもできます。マスタードのお花らしく、ちょっとスパイシー。)

We joked with some friends when the unusual warm temperatures hit this past weekend that “the oven has just been turned on” or that it is in “preheating mode”. It was so true, it certainly reminded me of just how hot it gets around here. I’m going to try to enjoy every precious moment of this pleasant weather as long as it lasts!

先週末気温が異常に上がった時、友達と「オーブンのスイッチがオンになったみたい」とか「予熱状態だね」などと冗談を言い合いました。でも本当にそうで、どれだけ暑くなるかを思い出させられました。なので、この過ごしやすい天気をできる限り満喫しなくては!

Much love,
Kaori

5 Comments leave one →
  1. ryuji kanie permalink
    March 8, 2011 7:49 pm

    確かに最近の気温はびっくりするぐらい暖かいですね。
    もう半そでの人がちらほらいるのにびっくりす。ちなみにテルアビブですが。
    今日は午前中は豪雨でした。そちらはどうでしたか?

    • March 9, 2011 11:01 am

      こちらは昨夜から今朝にかけて豪雨です。
      小さな国でも天気の時差が若干あるみたいですね 笑
      こちらは先週末余裕でタンクトップ・短パン続出でした。
      ここ数日はまた寒くなってさすがに見かけませんがね!

  2. Sumi permalink
    March 9, 2011 3:36 pm

    のどかな自然が気持ちよさそう。
    東京にいると、本当に自然が恋しくなるよ。。。
    緑がいっぱいあると、癒されるよね★

    イスラエルの緑はパワーみなぎってるって感じ(笑)
    青々よりも、ピカピカっていうかさ。

    • March 9, 2011 9:08 pm

      そうだよね、特に自然が美しい北海道出身のすみれちゃんはなおさら自然が恋しくなるのでは?本当にイスラエルの緑のパワーはすごいすごい 笑 長〜い夏の間土の中でじっとしてなきゃいけないからかな。

Trackbacks

  1. 109 (FF: Berry Trees and Minty Leaves |   ベリーの木、ミントの葉っぱ) « much love, kaori – letters from Israel

Leave a Reply

