Skip to content

91 (Kibbutz Archive | キブツの資料館)

February 8, 2011

These photos are from the Archive of the kibbutz Yuval grew up in. When we were taking a walk a few weeks ago, we were beckoned inside by the woman in charge. It was an impressive collection of photos, documents, maps, books, and various items collected and preserved over 80 years.

Places like these really makes me appreciate the act of preserving and archiving. Precious history seeped through every piece of paper and each artifact seem to provoke memories and nostalgia. Yuval seemed to be washed over with memories and instantly taken back through time. (I on the other hand was able to see some pictures of him as a kid!🙂 )

* * * * * * * * * *

Being in the Archive got me thinking about “things” and keeping them vs. letting them go. Over the last five years or so, I have definitely become more and more minimalist. I started questioning our materialistic culture for the first time maybe 10 years ago, but interestingly my consciousness towards “things”and the excess amount of it really strengthened after taking part in a zazen fasting program with Mr. Hozo Noguchi in Japan 3 years ago. It actually makes a lot of sense to me now that by becoming aware of what and how much I eat (and how little I really need) had also made me start seeing just how many material “things” I had and still continued to consume. (This is a topic worthy of its own separate post.) This fasting experience combined with moving numerous times in the last few years significantly slimmed down my possessions. Partially out of effort but mostly out of necessity.

Minimalism and my relationship with “things” is a topic I would like to explore further in upcoming posts, but my point for today is that the kibbutz Archive made me instantly want to go back to the “keeping” camp. It reminded me of the preciousness and importance of saving “things”. It made me grateful for those people that don’t throw things away without much thought, but recognize the potential in them. I obviously struggle back and forth between the keeping vs. letting go, but with everything, perhaps moderation is key?

写真はユバルが育ったキブツの資料館で撮ったもの。数週間前散歩をしていたら、資料館を管理している女性に声をかけられたのでちょっと覗かせてもらうことに。そこには約80年以上に渡って集められ保存されてきた写真、資料、地図、本、そしてあらゆる日常品や物の見事なコレクションがありました。

この資料館のような場所を訪れるたび、保存・保管する行為を改めて感謝してしまいます。紙切れ一枚一枚から歴史があふれ、小物一つ一つが思い出やノスタルジアを招くよう。ユバルは一気にタイムマシンで昔へ戻ったようでした。(私は資料館にあった彼の子供時代の写真がみれたし 笑)

* * * * * * * * * *

資料館に行ってから、「物」と、「保存する」対「手放す」について考えさせられました。ここ5年ほどでしょうか、私は確実にどちらかというとミニマリスト、最小主義になりつつあります。物質社会を初めて疑問に思い始めたのは約10年前だと思いますがおもしろいことに「物」とその量の過剰さを本格的に意識するようになったのは3年前に野口法蔵先生の座禅断食を試みてからなのです。今振り返ってみると、何を、そしてどれだけの量の食べ物を自分が食べているか、そして実際必要な量がどれだけ少ないのかを認識したことによって、自分がどれだけ物質的な「物」を持ち、更に増やし続けることも明確になったことは理解できます。(この断食と「物」に対する意識についてはまた別のエントリーで書きたいと思います。)この断食の経験に加え、ここ数年引っ越しが多かったこともあって私の持ち物は確実に減りました。この削減は努力によるのもありますが、大半が必要に迫られた結果です。

ミニマリズムと私の個人的な「物」との関係は今後もっとブログで追求していきたいと思っていますが今日言いたかったことは、キブツの資料館に行った後、一気に「保存する」側に戻りたくなってしまいました。資料館が「物」を取っておくことの貴重さ、大切さを思い出させてくれたのです。簡単に物を捨てない人への感謝の気持ちを感じました。明らかに私は「保存する」と「手放す」間で揺れていますが、全てのことにおいて言えるように、何事もほどほどにが良いのでしょうかね?

Much love,
Kaori

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sumi permalink
    February 9, 2011 3:28 am

    80年前の興味深いものを取って置くなんて見返す時おもしろそう。
    最近日本でも断捨離が流行っていて、必要最低限のもので暮らすのって
    出来そうで難しいよね。けど、実は必要なものって数少ないのかな。。

    • February 9, 2011 10:42 am

      私は断捨離はここ最近知ったの、半年前ぐらいの新聞を読んでいる時に(笑)。そういう方向に社会は向きつつあるのかね?でも都会に住んでいると必要最低限ってなかなか大変だと思う。田舎に比べたらね。でも私は逆に東京に住んでいた時、収納がなかったし、物がいらなくなったら今度は処理するのが大変だったから、徐々にかなり検討してから物を買うようにはなってたかな。いずれにせよ、必要最低限は難しいよね、、、

Leave a Reply

