Skip to content

88 (The Cat | 猫)

January 31, 2011
tags: ,

The skinny, raggedy, dirty kitten we adopted a few months ago have come a long way. After a few visits to the vet his skin and ear problems went away and he is now healthy, active, and seems to grow bigger by the day.

Not long after we adopted him, his energy quickly expanded way past the capacity of our small apartment. (Finding him stuck in a Spiderman-like position on our window screens in pursuit of birds, toilet paper shredded to oblivion, our feet, arms, hair and anything else he can get his paws on treated as a “fellow kitten”…) We started to let him go outside, as it seems to be the common practice in the kibbutz. And this has become the source of many funny episodes.

数ヶ月前拾ってきた時には痩せていて、みすぼらしく、汚れていた我が家の猫は見事に変身しました。獣医さんへ何回かお世話になり、肌と耳のトラブルは治り、今は健康でとてもアクティブで、日々大きくなるようにみえます。

我が家に連れて来てからあっと言う間に彼のネルギーは私たちの小さいアパートのキャパを超えるほどに。(窓の向こう側の鳥を追っかけようとした結果、網戸にスパイダーマン状態になったり、トイレットペーパーをびりびりに破ったり、私たちの腕、足、髪の毛など何でも届くものを他の「子猫」扱いにするなど、、、)ですので、彼を外に解放することにしました。キブツ内ではこれが一般的みたいだし。その結果、面白いエピソードがたくさん起こっています。

The Cat with Yuval's arm, his favorite "fellow kitten" | 大好きな遊び相手、ユバルの腕と

The other day, we heard a bunch of cats meowing outside our apartment. Yuval went to see if it was another fight (they are very common), or a cat in heat (they are becoming very common too, unfortunately). He came back inside laughing. “What’s going on?” I asked. It turns out a few of the neighborhood cats (all full grown) and our Cat (still a kitten) was just sitting in a circle and meowing amongst themselves. An important neighborhood committee meeting, perhaps?

This was unthinkable when we first started letting our Cat outside. Many neighborhood cats, both owned and stray, would come to check up on “the newcomer” invading their territory, and they were far from welcoming. It involved a lot of hissing and snarling and chasing our little one around. Nowadays we still get many cat visitors, but most of them seem to come to play, to say hi. We are learning that our Cat is very social.

先日、私たちのアパートの外で数匹の猫の鳴き声がしました。猫の喧嘩はしょっちゅうだし、発情期の猫も最近多いのでユバルが様子をみにいきました。すると、笑いながら帰ってきたので「どうしたの?」と聞くと、近所の猫数匹(全て大人)と私たちの猫(まだ子猫)がただ輪になってミャーミャーと鳴いていたそうです。猫の町内会だったのかしら?

外に解放し始めて間もない頃は考えられない風景でした。近所の飼い猫・ノラ猫が次々と自分たちの縄張りに侵入してきた「新人」をみにきては襲いかかったり、フーっと鳴いてはひっかいたり、追いかけ回したり。今でも猫の訪問者は絶えませんが、最近は遊ぼうよ、と言っているようです。私たちの猫はとても社交的みたい。

From last October, when we just got him | 去年の10月より。飼い始めて間もない頃

One of our other worries in the beginning was the big, menacing dog named Chewy next door. He was seen most days sitting outside behind the small trap door our neighbors built. He neither barked at us or wagged his tail when he saw us. Not the most friendliest of dogs.

Seeing how wildly our Cat hissed at a dog during our first visit to the vet, I was worried how much stress Chewy would put on our Cat. But it turns out Chewy is afraid of cats! The 15kg+ giant dog whimpers at the sight of our tiny kitten, who of course playfully tries to attack him at every encounter. No wonder we hardly see Chewy outside any more.

最初のうちにもう一つ心配だったのが、チューイーという名の隣に住む大きい犬。彼用に設置された小さなドアの向こう側にほとんど毎日デーンと座っていました。私たちが来ても吠えようともしなければしっぽも振らない。決して愛想のいい犬ではありません。

私たちの猫が獣医さんに初めて行った時に遭遇した犬にすごい興奮しておびえたのもあり、チューイーがどれだけ彼のストレスの原因になるかが心配でした。でも実はチューイーは猫が苦手なことを近所のカップルから発見!15キロは軽くある巨大なチューイーが私たちの小ちゃな子猫をみるたびに縮み、おろおろするのです。私たちの猫はもちろん「遊ぼうよ」と言わんばかりチューイーに飛びつく。道理でチューイーをほとんど外でみなくなったんだ。ごめんね、チューイー。悪気はないのよ。

Our Cat always follows us part way when we go somewhere. One time, as we were making our way back from the parking lot we heard a familiar meow. We looked up to see our Cat meowing frantically, stuck partway up a tree we saw him last when he had followed us a few hours ago. He had been stuck the whole time, the poor thing! Once we were able to stop laughing, we helped him down. We haven’t seen him caught in a tree ever since, but who knows.

Another neighbor of ours heard a cat scratching on his screen door so he flung it open, all ready to scold and shoo the cat away. But there was no cat! But he could still hear the scratching! It turns out our Cat had climbed too far up on the screen door and had gotten stuck there. This has happened a few times with our screen door too.

私たちの猫は、私たちが出かける際いつも途中までついてきます。ある時、駐車場からアパートへ戻る途中、聞き慣れた鳴き声が。上を見上げると私たちの猫が木の枝から必死で訴えているじゃありませんか。登ったはいいもの、降りてこれなくなってしまったみたいです。やっと笑いがおさまったところで木から降ろしてあげました。それ以来、木から降りれなくなっている姿はみたことがありませんが、私たちが知らないところで他の親切な人に助けられているだけかもしれません。

チューイーとは別の近所の男性がある日、彼の網戸のドアをひっかく音を聞き、犯人を叱り追い払おうととっさにドアを開けたら何もいない!でもひっかく音は続いてる!私たちの猫が彼の網戸のドアに高く登り過ぎて、爪がひっかかったまま降りれなくなってしまったみたいです。これは私たちの網戸のドアでも数回あったこと。

Our Cat doesn’t seem to feel threatened by any of the humans that come to our apartment, aside from Yuval’s 9-year old nephew that chased him around for about an hour, non-stop. He sits right next to our guests and begs to play or falls asleep on their lap. When he is in his cuddly mood, he makes sure he gets the best spot whether it’s your lap, your shoulder, or right between you and your computer. He’s learned he cannot come under our covers, so he snuggles right up to us so that it’s not unusual for one of us to wake up nose to nose with him.

I wonder what kind of mischief he will get in to next!

私たちの猫はアパートに来る人間のお客さんには全く動じません。(約1時間ほどノンストップで追いかけ回されたユバルの9歳の甥を除いて。)お客さんのすぐ隣にすわっては遊ぼうとねだったり、またはそのままぐっすり眠ってしまったり。甘えたい時はとことん、膝であれ、肩であれ、コンピューターの真ん前であれ、一番居心地の良い場所を追求します。私たちのベッドの中には入ってはいけないと覚えたのはいいものの、できるだけ近づこうとし、朝起きたら彼の顔が目の前にある、なんてことはしょっちゅう。

次はどんなエピソードが待っていることでしょう!

Much love,
Kaori

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Saminko permalink
    February 1, 2011 5:51 am

    Hi Quaolin!久しぶり〜、でもブログは頻繁にチェックしてまーす。チビちゃん随分大きくなったね。やんちゃしてるみたいだけど、可愛さが一杯伝わってくるよ♡ うちはお陰様で2匹とも元気です。こっちは寒いから毎晩ママの膝の上を巡って争奪戦です。幸せだ〜ふふふ。じゃ、またね! Take care! xoxo Raminko

    • February 1, 2011 10:57 am

      Hi Chaminko! 私もチャミオのブログチェックしてるよ〜みんな元気そうで何より。みんなで寒さを乗り切ってね☆
      昨日家の子がZowieの得意の(?)座り方をしたから、笑っちゃった。Zowieほどキマってはいなかったけどね 笑
      Stay warm sis xox

  2. Sumi permalink
    February 4, 2011 5:34 am

    猫ってかわいいー!昔実家で飼ってたから猫大好き。
    猫って、猫会議のために皆で公園に集まったりしてるよね。面白い♪

    • February 4, 2011 3:37 pm

      日本の猫も猫会議するの?笑
      私は見たことなかったけど今想像して心が和んだわ☆
      やっぱ一度飼ってみるとちがうのかね、私も自分の猫を飼うようになって、
      もっと猫が好きになったよ。
      ユバルは全然猫派じゃなかったけど、うちの猫にはすっかり心を奪われたみたい!

Leave a Reply

