Skip to content

81 (No more news | ニュースよ、さよなら)

January 9, 2011

Yuval likes to have the radio on basically all the time. I on the other hand, sometimes prefer silence. The good thing is, we have learned to compensate. (I’m enjoying my silence right now, actually.) Yuval’s favorite radio station, 88FM, has even grown on me. Aside from the regular programs during the week, on Friday nights they have a show that dedicates the whole hour to a specific genre, and I’ve really enjoyed it the few times we’ve caught it, one time African, another time Ladino music. I’ve also found myself occasionally hovering over the speakers to wait until they announce the name of the song and artist, feeling like I’m back in the 80’s (when there was no Google searching for music or artists). I’ve found a few good songs and artists through them, Israeli and otherwise.

I was shocked to hear that as of today 88FM will no longer broadcasts news, which used to be read at the top of the hour, every hour. Like a normal radio station, in my opinion. When Yuval heard of this a few weeks ago his reaction was, “Great!” He claims Israelis have had enough of news, with some stations broadcasting the news every half hour when necessary. Mostly news no one wants to hear, I imagine.

For me, the news have always been pretty essential, whether it was checking in with NHK in Japan or, when I gave up my TV, tuning in to the radio. There’s something about seeing or hearing the news live that doesn’t compare with the Internet, however quick it may be. Maybe the fact that I’ve worked in radio before, translating foreign news to Japanese for live broadcast, is making me a bit biased. But a major radio station without any news whatsoever? It’s something I can’t get my head around.

ユバルはラジオを常にオンにするのが好きです。逆に私は、ラジオもいいけど沈黙も好きだったりします。なのでお互い譲り合うことを覚えました。(例えば今は沈黙をエンジョイしてます。)ユバルが好きな88FMも今では好きになりました。平日のレギュラー番組に加えて、金曜日の夜、特定のジャンルの音楽を1時間特集する番組があり、今まで聴くことができたアフリカの週、ラディーノの週はかなり聴き入ってしまったほど。また、たまにスピーカーの前でDJが曲名とアーティストをアナウンスするのを待っている自分がいたりします。こういう時は80年代(曲やアーティストをグーグル検索できなかった時代)に戻ったようで思わず笑ってしまう。このラジオ局を通していくつかいい発見がありました(イスラエル発とそうでないもの両方)。

しかしこの88FM、今日からニュースを一切放送しないことにしたそうです。今までは毎時間、時間の頭でニュースが読まれていました。私の中ではこれがラジオ局で当たり前。ユバルがこの情報を数週間前に聞いた時の彼の反応は「Great!」と喜んでいました。イスラエル人はニュースを聞き過ぎて、もううんざりなんだ、とのこと。ひどい時は30分ごとにニュースが流れる時もあったみたいです。

私は個人的に、今まではニュースが欠かせない派でした。日本にいた時はNHKのニュースをできる時にみたり、テレビを家に置かなくなってからは時間の頭にラジオをつけてみたり。ネットの時代で、確かに今は情報が更新されるのは早いですが、私にとって生放送でみたり聞いたりするニュースには比べ物にならないのです。また、大手ラジオ局の生放送番組のために外国のニュースを翻訳する仕事をした経験も影響しているのかもしれません。全くニュースを流さないメジャーなラジオ局?なかなか私にとっては理解できないことです。

Much love,
Kaori

Leave a Reply

