Skip to content

66 (Migrating Birds | 渡り鳥)

November 2, 2010
tags: ,

Cranes seen at Agamon Hula (photos taken by Yuval)
Agamon Hula (フラ湖)でみた鶴(カメラマンはユバル)

We went up north to Agamon Hula this past weekend in hopes to see some migrating birds.

Apparently we just missed the peak of the pelicans but still managed to catch a few. We were just in time for the cranes, as seen above. To only have known cranes from a Japanese folk tale, I always thought of them as a very special, exotic bird, and never would have imagined to see so many of them at once. (Also strangely a bit heartbreaking to see them as “real birds” in a normal, non-fairy tale environment!)

This day was the first day that truly felt like autumn. The blueness of the sky, the warmth of the sun, the slight crispness of the air, the light… it all felt different from the intensity of summer. It was the end of October, after all! Although touring the park with rented bicycles still left us sweating.

All in all it was a gorgeous day.

先週末は渡り鳥をみに北のフラ湖へ行って来ました。

ペリカンの絶頂期は逃してしまったようでしたが、それでも数羽をみることができました。鶴はまさに絶頂期(上の写真)。「鶴の恩返し」を子供の頃良く読んだこともあって、私の中では鶴はおとぎ話にしか出てこないような、とても特別な存在でした。まさか一気にこんなに多くの鶴をみるとは。(あと、おとぎ話からはかけ離れたある意味「普通」の環境の中、鶴をまさに「普通の鳥」としてみるのにちょっぴりがっかりする自分がいました!)

この日は初めて秋の予感を感じた日でもありました。青空の音色、太陽の暖かさ、空気のさわやかさ、日光のやわらかさなど、、、夏の強烈さがやっと去った感じがしました。なにせ10月の終わりですし!それでも公園をレンタルの自転車で散策した後は汗ばむくらいの暖かさでしたけれど。

すがすがしい、気持ちのいい一日でした。

Much love,
Kaori

2 Comments leave one →
  1. miko permalink
    November 3, 2010 1:41 am

    秋のさわやかな風がこちらにも伝わってきました。イスラエルはどんな秋のにおいがするんだろう。 日本は冬の気配を感じます。一年はあっという間だね。毎年このころになると、この一年ただ無駄に時間が過ぎてはいなかっただろうかとか不安になったりします。

    • November 3, 2010 6:59 pm

      特に印象に残るにおいはないけど、朝の空気はパリっとして、気が引き締まるよ。
      日本はもう冬の予感なのね〜 
      年末が近づいて不安になる気持ちは良くわかる。
      でもみこは決して時間を無駄に過ごしてはいないと思うよ!
      去年の今頃は一緒にJCCにヘブライ語習いに行ってたなんて、なんか信じられないわ。

Leave a Reply

