Skip to content

62 {(Un?)Official Police |(非?)公式の警察}

October 21, 2010

日本語訳へ

I was driving back from the gym when I noticed the car’s thermometer rising at an alarming rate.

Our car, which we affectionately call Gruti (“Grut“=Hebrew for junk, plus a feminine “i“) was slowly reaching her end. She overheated last week while Yuval was driving back from a martial arts class. Right next to a graveyard out of all places. He had to wait in the dark for about 20 minutes for his brother to come pick him up. Since then the furthest destination we drive Gruti to is my gym, less than 10 minutes away.

When I saw the thermometer rising higher and higher, I turned in to the kibbutz right before ours. I went off the road immediately and stopped the car. After a few minutes I started her up again, and seeing the thermometer was back down, I started to u-turn back towards the road. As I shifted the gear to reverse, Gruti abruptly shut down with a soft whimper. I felt her sliding back down in to the ditch, crunching leaves and tree branches underneath, before coming to a final stop with a soft thump.

As I whipped out my cell phone to call Yuval, I saw a car stop slightly past the entrance to the kibbutz road. They reversed and took a sharp turn towards me. I assumed they were either residents of the kibbutz or concerned people coming to see if I needed help. Before I knew it a guy stepped out of the car and aimed a flashlight right in my face.

“Police,” he said, shining his flashlight on an ID card he took out of his pocket.

He continued to speak to me in Hebrew, cutting right in to my conversation with Yuval on the phone. As I was explaining to Yuval what was happening I gestured to the “police” guy that the car was dead. Car (pointing to the steering wheel), DEAD (my hand slicing my neck).

“Don’t you speak Hebrew?” he asked in English.
When I shook my head he ordered me to get out of the car.
NOW.

Once I was out of the car he gestured towards my phone, which I handed over. He spoke with Yuval for a minute then handed the phone back to me. Yuval assured me he was on his way (about a 7 minute walk). “Is everything okay? What’s going on?” I asked. He told me it was okay, and that he will be here soon. His voice was hard to read.

I noticed there was another guy in the passenger seat of their car, to who the first guy gestured something and shook his head. I also couldn’t help noticing that their car didn’t look like a police car at all. A regular white car with no siren, logo, nothing. The guy who was interrogating me was wearing a t-shirt, shorts, and flip flops. He asked me for my passport, to which I replied that I didn’t have on me. I dug in to my purse for my international license instead, which should be enough and perfectly legal. Once he was finished examining my license, he went in to Gruti and tried to start her back up again. After a few failed attempts Gruti grumbled then roared back to life.

Oh great, I thought. Is this going to make me look suspicious? Like I was faking it?? Like I was lying???

The guy drove Gruti out of the ditch and started driving a little further towards the main road. This is when my suspicions exploded – is he going to hit the gas and drive away? Or are they going to kidnap me?

But after only a few meters the guy put Gruti in to parking mode and stepped out.

“You have to carry your passport at all times, okay?” he said, before walking back to his “police car”. They drove past me as I was getting ready to drive, and the guy in the passenger seat yelled, “Seat belt, seat belt!” But he was smiling, flirtatious almost.

This day happened to be the day the Israeli Cabinet sat in Deganya Alef, the very first kibbutz in Israel (and where my gym is located). This was in honor of the 100th anniversary of the kibbutz. Understandably there was heavy security during the day, but this was about 7 hours after the Cabinet had closed.

Yuval thought that if they were indeed police in civilian clothes, they were searching for anything out of the ordinary, and I guess I was a pretty good candidate. Gruti, as much as we love her, is 24 years old and pretty rustic on the outside (in another words an “Arab car”, in Yuval’s words) . Combine that with the fact that the car was stuck in a ditch in a pretty awkward position, well, that’s not exactly ordinary. I may have been suspected of being a terrorist, but I suspected them just the same or even more. Maybe I just got lucky. I will never know.


.
.

先日ジムから帰る途中、車の温度計が急激に上昇していることに気付きました。

愛情を込めてグルーティ(グルートゥ=ヘブライ語で「ボロ」に女性形の「」を付け加えた名前)と呼んでいる私たちの車は確実に終わりに近づいていました。先週ユバルが忍術のクラスから帰宅途中加熱してしまい、しかも墓地の真ん前という素晴らしい場所で、お兄さんが迎えて来てくれるまで約20分待つことに。それ以来必要最低限でしかも短距離のみに使用することになりました。一番遠くてせいぜい10分以内に着く私のジムだったのです。

ですので上昇する温度計に気付いた途端、あともう少しで家に着くところだったのですが手前のキブツでいったんストップすることに。道路から右折しすぐに脇道で止まりました。数分待った後、またエンジンをかけてみたら温度計が正常に戻っていたのでUターンをし始めました。
ギアをバックにした瞬間、グルーティは突然細いため息をと同時に急停止をしてしまいました。脇道へずるずると後戻りし、枯れ木や葉っぱがつぶれる音がした後、全く動かなくなってしまいました。

ユバルへ急いで連絡しようと携帯電話をバッグから取り出す最中に、キブツの入り口をちょっと過ぎた所である車が停止しているのに気付きました。その車はバックし、私の車へ直行。キブツの住民か心配をしてくれた人かなと思いきや男性が車から飛び出し懐中電灯を私の顔に思いっきり向けながら、

「警察だ」と言い、ポケットから取り出した身分証明証に懐中電灯をあてました。

私が携帯電話で話しているのはそっち向けにヘブライ語でしゃべり続ける男性。私はユバルに電話で生中継をしながらこの「警察」と名乗る男性に身振り手振りで状況を説明しようとしました。

(ハンドルを指差し)、死んだ(自分の首を手で切る)。

「ヘブライ語はしゃべらないの?」と男性は英語で聞いてきました。
私が首を振ると、車から出ろと指示されました。
今すぐに!

私が車から出ると男性は私の携帯電話を指差すので手渡すと、わずかな間ユバルとしゃべりました。電話が戻されユバルに「何が起きているの?大丈夫?」等と聞いてみると、彼は「大丈夫、今そちら(約7分の距離)に向かうから」しか言いません。声からは何も読み取れませんでした。

男性の車にはもう一人男性が助手席に座っていることに気付きました。その相方に向かって最初の男性は何かのジェスチャーをしています。また、彼らの車は警察らしさが全くありません。白の普通車でサイレンもなければロゴもなし。私を「尋問」している男性はTシャツ、短パン、ビーサン姿。パスポートを出せと言われ、代わりに国際免許証を出しました。パスポートなしでもなんの違法もないはずです。国際免許を視察し終わると、男性はグルーティの運転席に入りスタートさせようとしました。何度か試みるうちにグルーティのエンジンがなんと生き返ったのです。

ああどうしよう。これで私がウソをついていたと思われたらどうしよう。

男性はそのまま脇道からグルーティを出し大通りに向かって動き出しました。この時点で私の疑いは頂点に。
もしかしたらそのまま車を盗むつもり?それとも私を誘拐するつもり?

しかし数メートル進んだ後、男性は車をストップし出て来ました。

「パスポートは常に持ち歩かなきゃダメだよ。」と言い、「警察車」へ戻っていきました。私を通り過ぎる際、助手席の男性が「シートベルト、シートベルト!」と叫びましたが先ほどの雰囲気とは一転。ナンパに近いフレンドリーさでした。

この日はイスラエルの内閣が近くのイスラエルで初めて設立されたキブツ、デガニア・アレフで会議を行った日だったのでした。(またデガニア・アレフは私のジムがある場所。)デガニア・アレフの100周年を祝っての特別行事だったのです。なので日中は警備が厳しかったでしょうが、この事件が起きたのは会議終了した約7時間後のこと。

ユバルは、もし男性らが普通の服を着た警察だったならば、異常なことに目を張っていただろうと推定し、その視点からみると確かに私は普通ではありませんでした。グルーティは24歳で年がにじみ出ているし(ユバルが言うには「アラブ系の車」)、車が停止した位置は確かに異例。

彼らは私をテロリストと疑ったかもしれないけど、私だって負けないくらい彼らを疑っていました。もしかしたら本当にラッキーだっただけかも。真実は永遠に未知の世界です。

Much love,
Kaori

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Yuval permalink
    October 23, 2010 8:37 am

    Bebeb,

    I can’t believe you actually though somebody would like to steal Grutti!!
    Its so old even the Arabs wouldn’t want it🙂

    and as for the phrase ‘An Arab car’, it is said with respect for their approach to cars >> an old, reliable, mechanical car is better then all the new modern computerized cars (and much easier and chipper to maintain).

    yuval

    • October 25, 2010 12:31 am

      In a threatening moments stranger things have passed through people’s minds, I’m sure…
      And thanks for that clarification bebe!

  2. miko permalink
    October 24, 2010 2:45 am

    その場面を想像しただけでも鳥肌がたってしまうよ。 こわーい。テロリストに気づかれないようにわざとそんな格好で警備をしていたんだと思うよ。車のこともあってダブルパンチな一日だったね。 お疲れ様でした:)

    私も実はニュージーランドに住んでいたころ、ポンコツ車に乗っていて、仕事の帰り道いきなりバンパーから煙がモクモク、なぞの水がポタポタで、大きなメインロードで立ち往生したことがあるよ。みんな見てるし煙はモクモクだし大パニック。近くのガソリンスタンドに半泣きで助けを求めにいったよ。 今ではいい思い出になっているけれどね。
    ファイト!かおり!

    • October 25, 2010 12:37 am

      みこはそんな大変な目にあったのね〜!
      それこそ想像しただけでドキドキしてしまうよ。
      私だったら車が止まった時点で泣いてただろうな。
      ありがとー!頑張る!

      • sammi permalink
        October 25, 2010 2:19 am

        Hi! Please be careful out there in the the big world! We in out little sheltered world of NH worry about you! (OK, that was the mom in me!) Guess you should take your workout to a new level and run or walk to the gym.🙂
        Your blog is still delightful! Keep it going for us!
        Sammi

      • October 25, 2010 8:45 pm

        Thanks for worrying about me all the way out there in NH!🙂
        I really think it was the extra security for the Cabinet that day, this kind of thing never happens.

        But I do plan on biking to the gym… soon… I’ve been meaning to…😀

Trackbacks

  1. 64 (Farewell Gruti | さよならグルーティ) « much love, kaori – letters from Israel
  2. 82 (A Restaurant in Haifa | ハイファのレストラン « much love, kaori – letters from Israel

Leave a Reply

