Skip to content

53 (Babies – the film | 映画「Babies」)

September 26, 2010
tags: ,

I went to see the documentary film “Babies” this past weekend. I first learned about the film from my teacher at the Ulpan. When she tells a story in class, topics range from politics, religion, to a conversation she had in a grocery store. I usually understand maybe 20 or 30 percent. When she told us about the film, I sort of got that it was a film about four babies around the world, all documented for a year. My interpretation was confirmed when I heard another person talking about the film, in English. (Although the babies seemed to be documented for more than a year.)

It was the kind of film that stuck with me, scenes reappearing in my mind hours and even the day after. I personally love learning about different cultures, even more so through imagery. So I especially enjoyed watching the babies from Namibia and Mongolia, cultures very foreign to me. And how stunning the Mongolian landscapes were! The baby from Namibia reminded me of when I was in Guinea (West Africa). I remembered being in awe with the babies there, being so content and creative with playing despite having hardly any toys. I watched the Japanese baby and her family feeling a bit protective, as if they were my own family. And the baby and family from San Francisco made me miss the city, although their life as a family was very different from my San Francisco experience as an early 20-something fresh out of college.

先週末、ドキュメンタリー映画「Babies」をみに行って来ました。この映画のことを初めて耳にしたのはウルパンで先生が話題にした時。先生はたまにちょっとした話を授業でしてくれますが、内容は政治、宗教、またはスーパーであった日常的な出来事など、広範囲に渡ります。でも私は毎回二割から三割ぐらいしか理解できません。映画の話をしてくれた時は、なんとなく世界のあらゆる地域の赤ちゃん四人をそれぞれ一年間追った映画だ、ということを聞き取れた気がしました。他の機会に別の人が今度は英語で同じ映画の話をするのを聞いたとき、私の聞き取りがほぼ合っていたことが確認できました。(やった〜)(ただ映画をみてみると、一年以上撮影しているようにもみえました。)

印象が強く残った映画でした。あらゆるシーンがみた後から何時間後も、そして翌日にも頭の中でふとよみがえりました。私は個人的に他の文化を学ぶのが好きで、映像や写真を通してなおさらなので、特に最も未知の世界であるナミビアとモンゴルの赤ちゃんには興味を持ちました。またモンゴルの風景の美しいこと!ナミビアの赤ちゃんにはギニア(西アフリカ)へ行った時のことを思い出させられました。ギニアの赤ちゃんのたくましさ、またほとんどおもちゃもないのに工夫をして遊び楽しそうにしてる姿に心を打たれたのを覚えています。日本の赤ちゃんとご両親のシーンはちょぴり保護的な気持ちになりながらみる自分がいました。まるで自分の家族かのように。サンフランシスコの赤ちゃんとご両親のシーンはサンフランシスコが恋しくなりました。彼らの家庭としての生活は私が大学卒業したばかりの20代前半として体験したサンランシスコとはかなり違いましたが。

Much love,
Kaori

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2010 5:55 am

    へ〜。Babies 見てみたいな〜。こっちは地元 “Town” が話題。友達が見に行こうと言うが、私はこの手の映画ちょ〜苦手(笑)

    • October 2, 2010 1:56 pm

      お〜TownってBen Affleckの映画のこと?
      私は出演しているJon Hammのファンなので、みたいな〜 笑

  2. October 3, 2010 2:20 am

    そうそう、Fenway Parkでオープニングのイベントもあったらしいけど、全然知らなかった。残念。

  3. miko permalink
    October 20, 2010 3:37 am

    昨日、ここ日本ではテレビでフランスのドキュメンタリー映画『プルミエール 私たちの出産』、原題:Le Premier Criが放送されていて見たの。
    フランス、日本、アフリカ、インドなど10カ国の自然出産をテーマにしたドキュメンタリーなんだけれど、生命の誕生の美しさに感動したよ。日本の若林先生というおじーさんが妊婦さんを連れて夕日を眺めているシーンがあるんだけれど、先生が「生命の誕生は朝日が昇り、夕日が沈むことと一緒でごく自然なこと」って言うの。素敵だったなー。

    • October 20, 2010 2:49 pm

      みこのコメント読んで鳥肌立った〜 私もいつかその映画みれるといいな。
      日本の先生、美しいこと言うね☆
      ちなみに「Babies」も確かフランスのチームだったと思う。

Leave a Reply

