Skip to content

45 (My Place | 私の場所)

August 30, 2010

“You need to find ‘your place’, and it should be outside of your home,”
my former boss had said to me during my last few days in Tokyo before departing for Israel.
A place that’s your own and where you can just be.

He went on to tell me about his experience as an American exchange student nearly 25 years ago in Tokyo, staying with a Japanese household traditional in the extreme, even in Japanese standards. His “place” was a small area within his university campus where he would just sit and study and block out the world.

I think I found “my place” a few weeks ago. I was dropped off about an hour early for a friend’s belly dance class and had walked around the kibbutz where the studio is located. (The very first kibbutz in Israel, by the way.) I was taken by the beauty of the place, enhanced by the light at that time of day. Everything was soft and fuzzy and glowing.

Upon reaching the stairs in the first photo I sat down without really thinking about it.

Then I laid on my back.

「自分の場所を見つけたほうがいいよ、しかもできれば家の中じゃないほうがいい。」
イスラエルへ発つ前に元上司にこう言われました。
自分だけの特別な場所。自分になれる場所。

それから元上司は約25年前アメリカ人交換留学生徒として初めて東京に来た時のことを
話してくれました。
当時彼は日本人からみてもかなり伝統的な家庭でホームステイしていたそうです。
彼の「自分の場所」は大学キャンパス内の小さなスペースで、そこでいつも勉強をしながら世界をシャットアウトしていたとのこと。

数週間前、「私の場所」をみつけた気がしました。
友達が教えているベリーダンスのクラスへ通っているのですが、
車の事情もあってその日は約1時間前に到着。
なので、スタジオがあるキブツ内を歩いてみました。
(ちなみにこのキブツはイスラエルで一番目に建てられたキブツ。)
夕暮れちょっと前の明かりが全てを柔らかく包み、まるできらきらとやわらかく輝いているよう。
キブツの美しさに魅了されてしまったのでした。

そして上の写真の階段にたどり着いたら何も考えずにそこにすわる自分がいました。

次に、寝転がってみました。

The ground was still warm from the day and as I laid there, looking up at the palm trees and the sky, out of nowhere tears filled my eyes. They fell one after another, tears for my family and friends that I missed, tears for the magnitude of how much my life has changed, tears for how particularly frustrating and discouraging it was at the ulpan that day. Tears for how far away my reality felt from the old familiar life I had just two months ago. When no more tears came, I drifted in and out of sleep.

This is how I came to find “my place”. As soon as my former boss had spoken to me about such a place, I knew that for me it would also have to allow me a good cry when necessary.

And as with many good cries, I felt so much better afterward. At the end of the day I’m always glad I took the chance to come to Israel to be with Yuval. And I knew it wouldn’t be easy.

With the days growing shorter it’s dark when I’m there nowadays. And during the colder months I may have to find somewhere else but for now…
I’ve found my place.

地面はほんのり暖かく、そこからヤシの木と空を見上げていたらどこからともなく涙が出てきました。
ぽろぽろと、日本にいる家族や友達に対する恋しい涙、
自分の人生の変化の巨大さへの涙、
失望感が特に大きかったその日のウルパンの授業への涙。
たった二ヶ月前の自分の現実からはかけ離れた今の現実への涙。
そして、もう涙が出なくなったらうとうとしました。

こうやって「私の場所」をみつけたのです。
元上司にこのような場所の話を聞いた瞬間、
私にとって自分になれる場所=泣きたい時には泣ける場所、と思ったのでした。

そして泣いた後は大抵少しすっきりします。この時も断然気分が良くなりました。
いつも最終的にはユバルと一緒になるために思い切ってイスラエルに来てよかった、
と思う自分がいます。
辛い時もあるだろうことは来る前から承知してたこと。

最近どんどん日が短くなってきているので、「私の場所」にいくと既に暗くなっています。
今後寒くなったらまた他の場所をみつけなくてはならないかもしれませんが、、、
とりえあず「私の場所」をみつけました。

Much love,
Kaori

4 Comments leave one →
  1. すみ permalink
    August 31, 2010 4:39 pm

    私の場所が見つかって良かったね♪素敵な場所だね。

    なんか、わかるーその気持ち。
    色んな理由が重なって、シクシク。。。悲しいより、ただ泣く、みたいな。その後すっきりするよね。

    イスラエルでは喜怒哀楽を皆表してて、悲しいときは泣くし、
    不満な時は不平を言って、楽しいときは楽しんで、
    そんなイスラエル人の行動を見て、初めて人間らしさって何か知った気がしました。

    • September 1, 2010 9:25 am

      本当にすっきりしたよー 笑

      すみれちゃんの言う通り、イスラエル人は感情をもっとおおっぴらに出してるよね。
      私も見習いたいところだけどなかなかシャイの殻を突き破ることができない、、、
      でもいい刺激と思って少しずつ体と心を慣らしていこうと思います。

  2. September 2, 2010 7:25 pm

    Israelis are definitely very open and vocal about their emotions. I was taught never to complain because it’s impolite, and yet people here won’t understand you unless you’re blunt and honest about how you feel. Learning to let go of subtlety is one of my biggest challenges living here. Hope you’re feeling better too after finding your place to relax for a time (it must have just been one of those weeks!).

    • September 4, 2010 12:43 pm

      I may have to go to you for advice from time to time on letting go of subtlety! I liked the openness and frankness of Israelis when I was simply able to observe in Japan and elsewhere…
      Now that I have to learn to be a part of it, it’s more challenging!

      I’m hoping for better upcoming weeks for both of us…🙂

Leave a Reply

