Skip to content

43 (Breeze | そよ風)

August 24, 2010

Finding beauty in a flowy curtain

noticing unique patches of light

and shadows reflected on walls.

* * * * *

There was a welcome breeze yesterday that made it bearable without the AC.

It is getting darker earlier.

All this was making me think the heat just may be starting to retire…

Only to be bitten by it as early as 8:30 this morning on the way back from the little kibbutz store.
(The way there was still pleasant.)

In Japan, despite all the complaining I did about the heat I always felt a bit sad when I sensed summer was fading…

But I’m willing to throw an extravagant farewell party to summer here.
Just let me know the departure date, please.

ふわふわと揺れるカーテンに魅了され

壁に映る日差しや影のユニークな形に気を取られる。

* * * * *

昨日はいい風が吹いて、エアコンなしでも耐えられた。

だんだん日が暮れるのも早くなってきたし、

暑さが和らぎ始めたかな?と思いきや、、、

今日は早朝から暑さにかみつかれた。8時30頃キブツの小さなお店から帰る途中。
(行きはまだそんなに暑くなかったのに)

日本では、暑さの文句をさんざん言っても夏の終わりの予感がするといつもちょっぴり寂しかったのを覚えてる。

でもここの夏には、盛大な送別会を企画したいほど。日にちだけ教えてください。

Much love,
Kaori

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Abby permalink
    August 25, 2010 3:51 am

    It seems like the summer heat has just started to break here in DC, too. After 9 years in Tokyo, I feel like I can handle just about anything. The cooler air and subtle breeze is so refreshing but, like you, the summer departure makes me glum…on to shorter days and chilly nights. Ugh.

    Darrin and I found a place nearby and are moving in together at the end of September. Would love to visit you and Yuval one day🙂 xoxo

    • August 25, 2010 9:42 am

      Ah, but autumn in DC must be so nice and pretty and romantic? I’m very envious right now…

      That’s great you and Darrin are moving in together! I’m so happy for you. I hope the move goes smoothly.

      And you know we will be thrilled to have you guys here!

  2. Saminko permalink
    August 25, 2010 7:02 am

    日本もまだまだ暑いけど、随分日が短くなったよ。ちょっと寂しいね。
    Window display は既に秋〜冬物。 一方ビル内や電車内はまだまだ冷房がキツ過ぎて寒いし。
    なんだか四季の感覚がぐちゃぐちゃになりそうだよ〜。そっちは早く farewell party が出来るといいね。身体に気を付けて!

    P.S. to Abby. Great to hear that you and Darrin are happy together🙂 Miss you! sammie

    • August 25, 2010 9:45 am

      ディスプレイが既に秋〜冬物なんて!みるだけで暑くなりそう🙂
      Samこそ体に気をつけてね☆

      P.S. Yes, I’m also very happy for our Abby. I miss you girls very much!!

Trackbacks

  1. Thank you, electric fan « From 外人 to גוי

Leave a Reply

