Skip to content

36 (Language karma | 外国語カルマ)

August 6, 2010

Hebrew children books on a table

I have never taken my kikokushijo (帰国子女) status for granted. (Kikokushijo means returnee in Japanese, referring to children that lived overseas and “returned” to Japan). My childhood memories of the six years I spent in the United States still remain warm and fuzzy to this day. (I will save the cultural gains and benefits from those years for another post.) During those years was also when I learned to speak English without any of the hardships that comes with learning a foreign language as an adult. I had picked it up before I knew it.

Back in Japan, I naturally breezed through English classes in junior high and high school and received top grades without much effort. The fluency and American accent of my spoken English was a constant subject of envy. All of this made me think I was good with languages. But now I’m painfully starting to realize that may have just been an illusion. I never really studied English; I simply picked it up as a child, in the way that all children are capable of. Now trying to learn Hebrew at 34 years old, I’m starting to think I actually may be hopeless with languages. I also can’t shake off the feeling that it’s language karma biting me back. You think you can get away with all those easy rides you’ve gotten with English? I don’t think so.

My brain seems to be on a campaign to simply throw every new word that tries to come in back out. I can’t seem to remember anything! But the new vocabulary at the Ulpan continues to grow in a frightening pace, every day.

Actually, I think some of the words stay. But when I’m trying to read something, I am often too occupied with processing the letters that I don’t even recognize the words I know as I read them. After a few tries I may start to recognize some of the words.

Hearing is even worse. It is one thing when the teacher asks me a question using the exact format she wrote up on the board. But when she throws me a question out of nowhere, it’s like a slap in the face and I am paralyzed. After a few repetitions, slower each time, I often realize she was mostly using words I already know. It was the delivery that completely threw me off.

Every person of course has their own unique way of speaking, and that, I am discovering, complicates things even further. With each person I encounter it’s like a different Hebrew. They might as well be speaking to me in another language.

Speaking is above all the biggest of challenge for me. All throughout my life I heard the mantra of having to let go of your pride when learning a new language. You have to be ready to make a fool out of yourself. Shyness is the enemy. The important thing is to speak regardless. I’ve known that all my life, or at least I thought I knew. I’ve watched plenty of Japanese struggle with English both in Japan and overseas, and foreign friends struggle with Japanese in Japan. But I never really struggled myself. I’m starting to get it now and just how hard it is! Often times my brain freezes before I can manage to think up of a few words. Even if I manage to, my shyness takes over, and a blockade goes up over my mouth. Oy oy oy, as they say in Hebrew.

But there are rare moments when I recognize words in overheard conversations or jingles and songs on the radio. (Slow ballads are the most encouraging!) Sometimes I understand the gist of what was said even if I didn’t understand all words. These moments are truly rewarding after a particularly discouraging couple of days in the Ulpan.

Dear Language Karma, I know I have some paying back to do. But please consider being gentle on the doses. I can only take so much at once.

私は自分が帰国子女であることの有り難みを忘れたことはありません。幼少時代にアメリカで家族と過ごした6年間はかけがえのない思い出です。(文化的に得たことは別の話題としてとっておきます。)また、なんの苦労もせずに英語を身につけたのもその6年間でした。ある日気付いたらしゃべれた、そんな状態でした。

日本に帰国後、中学・高校の英語の授業は楽勝。すらすらとしゃべる英語は常にうらやましがれました。このような経験から自分は語学の習得が得意だと思い込んでしまったのです。でも今になって、それは単なる思い込みにすぎないと痛感しています。考えてみれば自分は英語を実際学んだわけではなく、子供の時にどんな子供ももっている能力で習得しただけ。今34歳でヘブライ語を学ぶ中、実は自分は語学の習得の才能が全くないと思い始めています。また、外国語カルマが復讐しているのではないか、つまり今まで楽をしてきた分今苦労をさせられてるのではないかと思ってしまいます。

まず、私の脳みそは新しく入ってくる言葉を全て拒絶するキャンペーンを始めたようです。何一つ頭に残らない!でもウルパンでは新しい言葉が毎日怖いくらいのペースで増える一方。

頭に残る言葉があったとしても文章を読む時は読むことに精一杯。そのため、わかる言葉を認識する余裕がないのです。何度か読み返してやっとわかる時も。

ヒアリングはもっと困難。先生がホワイトボードに書いた形式をそのまま使って質問してくるのはまだましですが、突然関係のない質問を投げられるとまるでビンタをくらったよう。脳みそはフリーズしてしまいます。何度かゆっくり繰り返し聞かれるうちに実は知っている言葉を使って構成された質問だということに気付きます。単に先生の聞き方に惑わされてしまったのです。

また、人それぞれにその人特有のしゃべり方があり、それもまた物事を複雑にします。新たな人としゃべる機会があるたび、全く違うヘブライ語に聞こえるのはしょっちゅう。全く知らない言語でしゃべりかけられるようなのです。

でも一番のチャレンジがしゃべること。外国語を習得するためにはプライドを捨てなくてはならないことは何度も聞いたことがありました。恥をかく覚悟で。恥ずかしがっていたら始まらない。とにかくしゃべることが大事。これはわかっていたつもりですが、実際そのような状況を経験したことがない以上、わかるはずがありません。今まで日本及び海外で日本人が英語で苦労をする姿、また外国人の友達が日本で日本語で苦労する姿はたくさんみてきました。でも自分自身、そのような苦労はしたことがなかったのです。今やっと痛感し始めてます。言葉をいくつか考えつく前に脳みそがフリーズしてしまうのが大半のパターンで、思いついたとしても恥ずかしさに負けてしまい口がまるで封鎖されたようになってしまうのです。ヘブライ語でいう「Oy oy oy(オイヨイヨイ)」、いわゆる「なんてこった」状態です。

でもまれに、他人の会話やラジオのコマーシャルや歌の中で言葉がわかる時があります。(バラードが一番わかったような気になります!)たまに言葉は全部わからなくてもなんとなく意味がわかる時も。ウルパンで自信をなくす日が何日か続いた後は、このような瞬間は本当に報われるのです。

外国語カルマ様、今まで楽をしてきた分お返しをしなくてはいけないことは痛感しております。でもどうかお手柔らかにお願いします。

Much love,
Kaori

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2010 11:12 pm

    My karma for being proud of my Japanese pronunciation was not being able to hear the difference between ר and ל for a long time. Everyone but me thought it was hilarious.

    • August 8, 2010 2:15 pm

      I think I have a looong way to go before I can tell the difference between those two (and I just realized I don’t know how to type Hebrew on my mac!).
      And believe me if you ever have a chance to hear my limited Hebrew (カタコト以下!) I’m sure I’ll inspire a few giggles from you.🙂

      • August 9, 2010 5:18 pm

        You can add Hebrew (I use QWERTY rather than the real Hebrew input style, so ל = L, ר = R, etc.) the same way you add any language to a Mac, then switch back and forth between languages by hitting command+space bar.

        I would never giggle at a fellow student engaged in the epic battle it takes to master Hebrew. We have to stick together!

      • August 9, 2010 9:20 pm

        Thanks for the tip, and also nice to know you’re a fellow Mac user!
        And yes, we Hebrew students have to stick together… perhaps we can giggle together at how ridiculously complicated Hebrew is🙂

  2. Kid Ego permalink
    August 9, 2010 11:38 am

    カオリさん、大丈夫ですよ!
    わたしも家や会社で毎日英語を習得するのに苦労しています。

    ときどき「あー、こんな中途半端な英語だったら、わかんない方がいいやー」と思って翻訳の勉強もぜーんぶ投げ出したくなります。
    (いまも投げ出してネットサーフィン中。笑)

    でも一度はじめたことを途中で投げ出すのは嫌なので、
    「努力は人を裏切らない」という言葉を信じてコツコツ続けています。

    カオリさんの努力は必ず実を結ぶはずだと信じてます♪

    だけどやっぱり劇的に外国語がわかるようになる薬があったら欲しいですよね(笑)

    • August 9, 2010 9:14 pm

      Hi Kid Ego!
      翻訳の勉強は普通の語学の勉強より何倍も苦労が必要なのでしょうね。
      勉強すればするほど複雑になっていくのでは。
      それに比べたら私の悩みなんて!
      くよくよしないで頑張る気になりました!
      私も無駄になる努力はないと信じています。
      Kid Egoさんの努力も一度身に付けたらKid Egoさんのもの、必ず役立つ時があると思います☆
      お互い頑張りましょうね〜 (でも薬が出たらお互い教え合いましょうね:) )

  3. Miko permalink
    August 10, 2010 3:40 am

    私はNOVAに通って英会話を学んでその後オーストラリアで旅行しながら1年間、とにかくネイティブの中に入ってわからなくても分かっている振りをして話を聞いてたな。時々あんまり私が分かっている風に話を聞いているものだから、意見を求められたりして大恥かいたな。
    でもなんとかここまで英語もしゃべれるようになって、私もヘブライ語をもう少し気合を入れてがんばらないと。
    かおりちゃん、努力あるのみ。がんばれ!!

     

    • August 10, 2010 4:45 pm

      ありがとよ、みこ〜
      ネイティブの中に入っていったなんて偉いわ。
      私はわかっている振りはできないと思う、はてなマークが顔に出ちゃうので、、、:)
      みこもヘブライ語の勉強頑張ってね!

  4. すみ permalink
    August 10, 2010 5:41 pm

    まだ行って1年経ってないし、のんびり気分で大丈夫だよー!

    私なんて、習ったけど今は日本で使わなくて、忘れる一方というか、忘れる単語もない位(笑)

    英語がぺらぺらなだけで、羨ましいです。

    ウルパンアレフに何回も通う友達も結構いたから大丈夫!

    • August 10, 2010 9:52 pm

      ありがとうすみれちゃん☆心強いです
      使わないと忘れてしまいがちになるよね、でも習得したものは絶対頭のどこかに残っていると思うから、また使う機会が出てくれば頭の屋根裏部屋のような(?)ところから出てくるよ、きっと :)
      すみれちゃんのヘブライ語理解度半端じゃないし!

  5. Shimi permalink
    August 12, 2010 3:23 am

    Ganbate Kaori. dont be too hard on yourself. you have been studying Hebrew for only 2-3 months in total. if you think about your level of Hebrew when arriving to Israel and now you will see how much prograss you made.

    • August 12, 2010 7:41 pm

      Thank you Shimi! You’re right, I do know much more than when I first came here. Ganbarimasu!

Leave a Reply

