Skip to content

34 (Scenes from a Wedding | 友人の結婚式)

July 29, 2010

Last night we attended the wedding of a friend Yuval grew up with. She looked beautiful and transformed from her usual tomboy self. She seemed a bit nervous right before the ceremony, but back to her usual self on the dance floor, accepting my congratulatory shot of tequila with a shrug and a “why not” while not missing a beat. (I’m not a usual drinker of shots, but a few glasses of wine and seeing other friends offer shots must have inspired me!)

This was the second wedding I’ve attended in Israel. Despite all the talk I’ve heard about the casual dress at Israeli weddings, the previous one was pretty dressy in my standards (although not nearly as dressy as an average wedding in Japan) with heels and ties and jackets. This time however, I felt convinced – there were plenty of flip flops matched with cute casual dresses and many men in t-shirts and shorts. (But also just as many dressier people.) I also learned that Poison and Deep Purple are perfectly danceable music and dancing is much more fun bare foot.

I also memorized how to say “I drank a little too many” in Hebrew on the car ride to the Ulpan today (shatiti kutzat yotel midai), about an hour and a half after missing the school bus. The wedding was well worth the hangover.

昨夜ユバルの幼なじみの結婚式に行ってきました。普段のおてんば娘のイメージからは一転したとても綺麗なお嫁さんでした。セレモニーの直前は明らかに緊張しているようにみえましたが、ダンスフロアでは普段通りの彼女に戻り、祝福のテキーラ・ショットを持っていったらワンテンポもミスせずに踊りながら快く一緒に飲み干してくれました。(私は普段ショットなんて飲まないのだけど、赤ワイン数杯と他の友達が同じことをしているのをみて影響されたのでしょう??)

イスラエルで結婚式に出席するのはこれが私にとって二回目でしたが、色んな人にイスラエルの結婚式の服装がカジュアルだと聞いていたにも関わらず、前回の結婚式は出席者の大半がヒールやネクタイ、ジャケットなど、結構きちんとした格好をしていました。(日本の平均的な結婚式に比べたらかなりカジュアルでしたけど)でも今回の結婚式では皆が言っていたことを確認できた気がしました。キュートなドレスにビーチサンダル、Tシャツに短パンなど、かなりカジュアル。(同じ数ぐらいのもっときちんとした格好の人もいたけれど)また、この結婚式でロックバンドのポイズンとディープ・パープルがダンス・ミュージックになること、裸足だと踊りの楽しさが倍増すること、などを発見しました。

そして今朝はバスを乗り過ごした約1時間半後、ウルパンに向かう車の中で必死に「ちょっと飲み過ぎました」をヘブライ語で練習したのでした(シャティーティ クツァットゥ ヨテル ミダイ)。

Much love,
Kaori

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2010 6:35 pm

    早速ですが、I stumbled upon your blog and had to say hi. I’m not Japanese, but I make sense of my experiences in Israel through my experiences in Japan, even though few people understand the comparisons. It’s nice to see others doing the same!

    • July 31, 2010 10:23 am

      Hi Katie,

      Thank you for dropping by! I had the pleasure of visiting your blog and I’m also thrilled to find someone going through similar experiences, and with such overlapping backgrounds as well (U.S./Japan and now Israel). I look forward to your future posts🙂

  2. Shimi permalink
    August 3, 2010 9:08 am

    Bekarov etlech (בקרוב אצלך)

  3. Maiko permalink
    August 7, 2010 6:55 am

    うわさに聞くけれど本当にカジュアルなのね。楽しそう。こんな結婚式は日本にはなくてとってもエキゾチック。素敵。

    • August 7, 2010 10:43 am

      そう、このカジュアルさは日本ではありえないよね!ハイファ周辺だったから涼しかったのもよかった。私たちが住んでる地域では外のウェディングはしばらく出席不可能だな〜 笑

Trackbacks

  1. 137 (Exotic wedding | エキゾチックな結婚式) « much love, kaori – letters from Israel

Leave a Reply

