Skip to content

26 (Farewell World Cup 2010)

July 12, 2010

This World Cup will no doubt leave a strong impression on me for years to come, as it began just around the time I arrived here in Israel. Probably just as strong as when Japan co-hosted with South Korea two World Cups ago.

As I was heading towards the pub to watch the final Spain vs. Netherlands game yesterday, I found myself not really caring about the outcome or even for the game itself. No offense meant to Spain or Holland fans, but it made me realize the World Cup had initially ended for me when Japan was no longer in the competition, and faded out completely when there were no longer teams I was interested in or cared for. That would be when Uruguay lost to Holland. I really developed a fondness for Uruguay this World Cup because in my eyes they played wholesome football and never seemed to give up until the last minute. While big names like Argentina and Brazil appeared to fall apart at a certain point during their games of defeat, Uruguay always seemed to keep it together to the very end.

I never imagined I would watch a World Cup in its entirety accompanied by Hebrew commentary, but life is full of surprises and I will miss the commentator whose voice became very familiar but whose words I hardly managed to understand. Sunflower seeds will also bear the memories of this World Cup as they were the accompanying munchies here.

During the half time yesterday they replayed some of the best goals of this World Cup and when Brazil came on it made me a bit sad. The World Cup simply didn’t feel right to me without them, even more so with them leaving so early. When Brazil plays well, they look like they’re dancing to me and it’s such a pleasure to watch. The canary yellow of their uniform pretty much sums up what good Brazil football symbolizes to me – bright, splashy, joyful.

The blue samurais made me proud, however a cliche thing that may be to say. I still think Honda and Endo’s goals during the game against Denmark were some of the most beautiful goals of the entire tournament. Above all the teamwork that seemed to have gotten stronger with every match was the most inspiring thing.

I will also miss admiring the bright color combinations and sleek designs of team uniforms. Some of my favorites were the candy-striped socks of Paraguay, both of Germany’s white and black uniforms, Ghana’s red, green, and yellow, and Brazil’s canary yellow of course.

What a fun, exciting few weeks it has been. I guess I have to go back to reality now!

私がイスラエルに来てから間もなく開始した今回のW杯は、間違いなく何年たっても印象が薄れることはないでしょう。日韓ワールドカップに負けないくらい。

昨日スペイン対オランダの決勝戦をみようと近くのパブに向かう途中、もう結果も試合もあまり関心がないことに気付きました。スペインとオランダファンに悪気はありませんが、私の中では日本が敗退した時点でW杯はひとまず幕を閉じ、興味のあるチームが全て敗退した時点で完全にフェイドアウトしたんだと実感しました。ウルグアイ対オランダの試合になります。今大会でウルグアイがとても好きになってしまいました。私にとって彼らのサッカーは健全で、何より最後の最後まであきらめないところが好きでした。アルゼンチンやブラジルのように期待がかかっていたチームが明らかに崩れていったに対して、ウルグアイは最後まで崩壊せず戦ったという印象でした。

一つのW杯を最初から最後までヘブライ語中継でみるなんて想像もしなかったことですが、人生はわからないもんですね。声はすぐわかるけど言葉は結局ほとんどわからなかった解説者を聞けなくなるのもちょっぴり寂しいです。あと、ひまわりの種もこのW杯の思い出のひとつ。お約束のおつまみだったからです。

昨日のハーフタイムの間、今大会のベスト・ゴール集が上映されたのですが、ブラジルが映った時ちょっと悲しくなってしまいました。私にとってブラジルがいないW杯はなんかしっくりこなかったし、特にあんなに早く敗退してしまったのでなおさらでした。プラジルが調子いい時は踊っているようにみえて本当にみていて楽しい。カナリア色のユニフォームが私にとって象徴するものはブラジルの良いサッカーそのもの:明るくて、派手で、楽しい。

日本チームには本当に感心させられました。本田と遠藤のデンマーク戦のゴールはいまだにトーナメントの中で最も美しいゴールの中にはいると思うし、何よりも毎試合強くなっていった印象の団結力が一番印象的です。

また、チームのユニフォームの色の組み合わせやかっこいいデザインがみれなくなるのも寂しいです。パラグアイの赤と白のしましまソックス、ドイツの黒と白の両ユニフォーム、ガーナのレッド・グリーン・イエローの組み合わせ、そしてもちろんブラジルのカナリア色。などがお気に入りでした。

なんて楽しくて、エキサイティングな数週間だったことでしょう!
これからは現実に戻らなくては、、、

Much love,
Kaori

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kid Ego permalink
    July 14, 2010 8:51 am

    終わってしまいましたね~、W杯。
    Kaoriさんと同じくわたしの中でも、
    今大会で一番輝いていたのはウルグアイです。
    (もちろん日本もですけど。笑)

    彼らは以前はダーティーなプレーが目についていたんですが、
    そのイメージはこのW杯で見事に消えました!
    それだけに、ウルグアイをここまで引っ張ってきた
    FWのフォルランが大会MVPに選ばれたのは喜ばしいことだ、と
    よそ様の国なのに感激してます。

    今回のW杯は終わりましたが、日本ではやっとJリーグが
    今日から再開されます。
    磐田まではなかなか行けないけど、月末に東京で試合が
    あるのでビール片手に観戦してきますよ~。

    ではでは。
    1ヶ月、観戦お疲れさまでした!

    • July 15, 2010 12:22 am

      フォルランのMVPのニュース、私も感激しました☆

      Jリーグ、W杯直後でいつもより盛り上がるのかな?
      日本代表の選手の活躍、興味あります。

      東京での試合、楽しんできてね〜!!
      Kid Egoさんこそ、多忙の中観戦お疲れさまでした☆☆!

Leave a Reply

