Skip to content

16 (Forty four degrees)

June 22, 2010

Yesterday’s heat was so overpowering, so thick, so incredibly intense, that it shocked me in to a muted silence. It bore in to my lungs and pierced in to my eyes, my skin, my every pore. Breathing felt difficult. It seemed possible not only to fry an egg instantly on the pavement, but on my own skin. Yes. Me, a walking frying pan. It felt best not to talk about it and act like it never happened.

But this morning Yuval’s brother called to kindly let us know that the temperature hit a high of forty four degrees Celsius (111 degrees Fahrenheit) yesterday. Forty four degrees. But that’s the average for August, he went on to say. So don’t worry, that was a bit abnormal yesterday. But a good preview for August, ha ha!

Those numbers seemed to instantly materialize yesterday’s heat back to reality. I know there are much hotter places on the planet, but I’ve never experienced this kind of heat before. It looks like it’s not just cultural differences I’m going to have to adapt to here in Israel, but also this unfathomable heat. A body double, perhaps? Any volunteers?

昨日は軽く放心状態になってしまうようなあまりにも威圧的で、ぶ厚くて、とてつもなく強烈な暑さでした。言葉も出ない暑さでした。肺の奥まで手を伸ばされ、目の中、毛穴一つ一つの奥まで突き刺された感じでした。息をするのも困難。道端で目玉焼きが瞬間的にできちゃうのはもちろん、自分の肌の上でさえできちゃう気がしました。はい、そうです、フライパンになったような感覚でした。このような異常事態は話題にもせず、なかったことにするのがベストかと。

しかし今朝ユバルのお兄さんが親切に(?)電話で昨日の最高気温は44°C(111°F)だったと知らせてくれました。44°Cです。でもこれは8月の平均気温だから、と彼は続けて言いました。昨日はちょっと異常だったんだよ、でも8月へのいい準備になるかもね、ははは!と。

この数字が昨日の暑さを一瞬にして現実のものにした気がしました。もっとはるかに暑い所が世界にあるのはわかっているけど、私はこのような暑さは体験したことがありません。ここイスラエルで慣れなくてはいけないのは文化的な違いだけではなく、この理解不可能な暑さに耐える対策も必要なようです。期間限定のスタントウーマンとか??立候補の方はいますか?!

Much love,
Kaori

Leave a Reply

