Skip to content

7

June 7, 2010

They smell so good, Canon EOS Kiss Digital X

“You’re going to learn a lot here in Israel,” said a friend of ours who was visiting from Tel Aviv this past weekend.

She is a good friend of Yuval’s from university, and the weekend turned in to a 2-day conversation often escalating to arguments (“not arguments, debates,” they would say) mainly about Israel, with few breaks in between. Maybe in Japan it is possible to have a conversation about Israel without getting in to a debate (because any conversation in Japan rarely turns in to a debate), but it is nearly impossible in Israel, and most certainly not if it is between Israelis, I’m starting to understand. And yes, learn I will if I want to, because all the Israelis I’ve spoken to so far have been happy to answer any question I have about their country, however ridiculous or ignorant I may have feared my questions to be.

This past weekend I also learned of a few Israeli musicians, such as Yasmin Levy (warning: musical link). Levy sings mostly in Ladino, a Jewish language I never even knew existed. And my first impression upon hearing her was, she’s a bit too emotional for me.

Perhaps too emotional for my current state of mind. Or just too emotional for the specific time I was exposed to her.

But then I thought, her music is sort of like what Israel is starting to unveil itself to me.

Pouring with emotion, whether it be of sorrow, anger, agony, even if you don’t understand the lyrics it washes over you, hangs over your heart.

Many of us outside of Israel or even a newcomer like myself living in Israel can choose to shut off the music if it gets to be too much.

But for Israelis they can’t shut off the music. They may leave the country for a while, or move from Jerusalem to Tel Aviv just to relieve the weight on their shoulders a little bit. But when the soil they live on is under constant threat, the topic of a constant argument, when most of their neighbors openly hate them and hope for the destruction of their existence, when the majority of the world unites in condemnation towards your government’s latest act of defense, etc…. How can you shut it off? So you talk, you explain, you debate, you solidify your opinions over and over again.

But again, this is just my impression.

「ここイスラエルですごい知識が増えるだろうね。」先週末、テルアビブから遊びにきてくれた友達が私に言いました。

彼女はユバルと大学時代からの仲良し。この週末は二日間にわたる長い会話となり、会話は頻繁に言い合いにエスカレートしました(彼らは「言い合いじゃない、討論だ」と言いました)。日本では討論にならないままイスラエルについての話し合いは可能かもしれませんが(日本人同士の会話が討論になることはめずらしいので)、イスラエル国内では不可能に近く、イスラエル人同士だったら絶対にありえない、という印象を受けます。また、私に知識を増やしたい願望さえあれば、彼女が言った通りいくらでも学べます。と言うのは、今までに私が話したイスラエル人全員が、どんな質問に対しても喜んで答えてくれたからです。いくら自分の質問が基本的すぎるとかばかばかしいのではないかと心配するような内容であっても。

またこの週末中、イスラエルの人気音楽アーティストを数人教えてもらいました。例えばYasmin Levy (注意:音楽リンクです)。Levyさんはほとんどの歌をユダヤ系言語のラディーノ語で歌います。私は今までラディーノ語の存在すら知りませんでした。そしてLevyさんの歌を初めて聞いた印象は、「ちょっと感情的すぎる」でした。

その時の自分の気分に感情的すぎたのかもしれません。それか、たまたま聞いたタイミングが感情的すぎると感じさせたのかもしれません。

でも彼女の音楽は、私にとって明らかになりつつあるイスラエルの姿に例えることができると思いました。

溢れ出る感情は悲しみ、怒り、苦痛、何がもとになっているであれ、言葉がわからなくても充分通じるものがあり、聴いている人の心に響きます。

イスラエル以外に住む人の大半、また私のようにイスラエルに住んでいても来て間もない人は、音楽が重すぎると感じたら止めることもできます。

でもイスラエル人は音楽を止めることができません。しばらく国を離れたり、例えばエルサレムからテルアビブに引っ越したりして多少肩の重荷をおろすことはできるかもしれません。でも、母国の土地が常に脅迫にさらされ、常に言い合いのもととなり、隣国のほとんどが母国に対する憎しみを公然とし母国の存在そのものの消滅を願い、母国政府の防衛策に対して世界の大半が一体となって激しく非難する中で、どうやって音楽を止めることができるのでしょう?だから話し合い、説明し、討論し、自分の意見を何度も何度も確かめるのです。

これはあくまでも私個人の印象ですけどね。

Much love,
Kaori

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Miko permalink
    June 7, 2010 2:05 pm

    Hi Kaori,

    Shimi wrote the following message to all his friends on Face book.

    Dear Frieds,
    Please don’t believe everything you hear on the news. Media has the habbit of dropping information that dosent fit with the “juicy” story.
    The so called “peace activists” were waiting on the boats with guns, nifes and sticks. It was all planned in advance to make israel look bad and unfortunetly it seems it worked.

    今回のピースボートの一件のことでシミの書き込みだったり、かおりちゃんのブログだったり、私がこうやってコメントを書いていること、いろんな人たちがこの事件に関心を寄せて「討論」させたことこそが一隻のピースボートが起こした狙いだったのかなと思います。

    泣き叫ぶ子供たちに
    微笑みを取り戻せる人がいたら
    私は私の命の半分を捧げよう

    咲きかけの花を
    破壊から守ってくれる人がいたら
    残りの半分はその人に捧げよう

    かおりちゃん、この詩パレスチナ人難民(どこかの国へ亡命している)が書いた詩なんだ。うちの冷蔵庫にいつも貼ってあるの。地球の裏側ではこんな詩が書かれている。
    作者が故郷の子供たちとその子供たちを囲む美しい花々を思い出しながら書いたのでしょう。私はピースボートなんかよりもこの詩から発信されたメッセージの方が心に響きました。 Dont you think?

    • June 7, 2010 8:04 pm

      Hi Miko!

      そうだね、最終的にはなんの罪もない子供たちが平和に生きれることが一番大切だよね。
      でも大人たちの争いが複雑になり過ぎてその一番大切なものがみえなくなっているのが悲しい、、、
      常に何が大事か、思い出さなきゃね。

Leave a Reply

