Skip to content

Long week

April 19, 2013

How was your week, my friends?

I can say it wasn’t such a good week for the birds around here. Tuesday was Israel’s Independence Day, which meant fireworks in the evening. And not just once, but the seven or so kibbutzim in the nearby vicinity each had their own ceremony and fireworks. Even before our kibbutz’s ceremony began we heard the first set of fireworks somewhere in the distance (not even in the nearby vicinity noted earlier), which began the bouts of fireworks shooting up from various directions, in various times throughout the night, always followed by a series of bird cries.

I wish I could say I enjoyed the fireworks (and had some photos to share with you) but the truth is I wasn’t feeling so good and decided to walk back home mid-ceremony. Only about 5 minutes later (and after well settled in my bed) I heard another set of fireworks that sounded the closest yet, which I later found out was our kibbutz’s. Go figure. I had just missed it.

While fireworks were on our minds, Yuval remembered a video he saw a year or so ago about a major fireworks event somewhere where ALL of the fireworks were mistakenly shot up ALL AT ONCE in about 15 seconds! I laughed good and long at this story… and kept on laughing later on every time I thought about it. In Yuval’s memory the video was about 5 minutes long, in which the first 15 seconds is the fireworks exploding all at once, and the rest is the spectators confused or complaining.

I know the appropriate thing to do here is to post the actual video (since Yuval no longer had the link, I just googled “fireworks 15 sec” and found a few) but I’m telling you, the story itself was so funny that when I saw the actual video I was a bit disappointed! So I’m giving you the option to just imagine the story. But if you see the video… well, I warned you.

If this kind of thing were to happen in one of the major summer fireworks festivals in Japan, I don’t think people would be able to handle the disappointment. Those are whole day events, going early to secure spots, trying to avoid going to the bathroom (because of the never ending lines), receiving and making a bunch of phone calls to try and find your friends… all in the midst of mid-summer, humid, Tokyo heat.

Whenever there is a holiday mid-week the rest kind of drags by for me. By now I can’t believe Independence Day was during this same week, it somehow feels very long ago.

Finally, my heart goes out to Boston. It sounds like the city is bursting with compassion and kindness, as seen in this article and this beautifully written blog post.

I hope you have a nice weekend, my friends.

Much love,
Kaori

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sammi Moe permalink
    April 20, 2013 3:14 pm

    I hope you are feeling much better now! We have lots of drama and excitement in Boston, as I am sure you have heard. (We are all safe, and they caught the bad guys.) I know what you mean about having all those fireworks nearby. We have fireworks go off on our beach during the summer season every Wednesday and Saturday night. It seems to be a draw for the tourists. As a resident I am not a fan. I usually am trying to go to sleep so I can get up for work at 2 or 3 in the morning, so it is just too loud for me. I enjoy them about once during the season. Oh well. They are pretty, though I wonder if they are not good for the environment.
    Have a wonderful week! Much love back at ya,
    Sammi

    • April 21, 2013 2:49 pm

      Hi Sammi, I’m glad to hear you are all safe, I’ve been following the news and was so relieved to hear they caught the bad guys.

      Fireworks twice a week! I can imagine that is not so nice for residents. And you have to wake up so early! (I thought my 5am was bad.) Well I hope you enjoy the next few months before the summer season starts up all over again :)

      Always good to hear from you. Wishing you a great week too,
      xo
      Kaori

  2. April 20, 2013 7:03 pm

    I’ve been a very bad blogger too. I am having the least connected (via internet) year ever! But great to have you back. And thanks for the Holocaust Remembrance video. Wow. I didn’t know anything about it. It’s good to remember. But you can’t be facing backwards — makes it too awkward to move forward.

    • April 21, 2013 2:53 pm

      Hi CH! How are you finding the low connectivity? I feel like it’s a necessary thing to do an Internet “fast” once in a while, but I can never stay away for too long. Perhaps because I am in a rather isolated place physically. And you are so right about not facing backwards!

    • Yuval permalink
      April 21, 2013 4:42 pm

      Hi CH,

      Its true that looking backwards can delay moving forward, but if you don’t know where you are coming from you will not be able to stir your course forward.

      Our Holocaust memorial Day is our way to remember our relatives murdered during WW2 because they were Jews, so we will not take our independence and freedom today for granted.
      After all, almost all of us had family members murdered by the Nazis and their collaborators during the war – my father had 5 brothers and sisters and God know how many cousins, and he was the only survivor. Me and my brothers call a 5th degree cosines ants (their great Grandmother was the sister of our father great Grandmother).

      It’s a bit mind boggling isn’t it…

  3. May 4, 2013 10:41 pm

    Hi Yuval.
    I meant to write “you can’t be facing backwards all the time” — I agree that you need to know/understand where you are coming from. Socio-political amnesia is never good for society. I felt that very strongly when I was living in Japan — we tend to conveniently whitewash our less desirable past. Now, there’s a whole generation who can’t understand why the Chinese, Koreans, Filipinos, Dutch…etc., etc. are still pissed off at us. But to move forward, I think we need to all LOOK forward. It’s really contradictory!! And like you say, mind boggling!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

